Fordmods Logo

Help with bolting up torque converter? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Help with bolting up torque converter?
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 451

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 5lt Turbo NC, TE V6 Gemini

Location: Castlemaine
VIC, Australia

Im bolting my engine and gearbox back together before i put them in the car. Should i bolt on the flexplate, then the converter, then slip the gearbox on? And how do i go about filling the converter with oil? sorry if it seems stupid but its late and ive never played with an auto before
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Place converter in gearbox. Align gearbox to engine and do up bolts to hold in place. Now do up converter bolts through the lower inspection plate. You can do one at a time.

Do it any other way and you risk cross threading thin input shaft.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 42

Posts: 175

Joined: 4th Jul 2007

Ride: eb

Location: callala bay
NSW, Australia

yeah,make sure when u put converter in gearbox that you rotate converter and push inwards until the converter sorta clicks and aligns with the pump in your box,if you don't do this you will bust something no risk.hope this helps!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 451

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 5lt Turbo NC, TE V6 Gemini

Location: Castlemaine
VIC, Australia

cheers guys...one more question... do i need to put oil in the converter before i bolt it up?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

BlownNc wrote:
cheers guys...one more question... do i need to put oil in the converter before i bolt it up?
Yes, half fill it up prior to putting on the gearbox, stressing that it is meshed to the pump by rotating it until it goes all the way home..

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names