Fordmods Logo

how do u fully manualize a auto????? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: how do u fully manualize a auto?????
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 154

Joined: 10th Dec 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2004 BA XR6T

Location: PERTH
WA, Australia

hows it goin ??? does anyone here know how to fully manualize a auto gearbox with the shift kit?? can it happen ?? i was thinking put a manual ecu in it will make it stay in gear instead of putting it in gear in a auto and not changing staight away each gear change?? any suggestions ppls??
sorry it might be confusing but try stik wit me :?: :idea:

 

_________________

04 BA XR6t auto
93 eb falcon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

It's certainly possible to apply tiptronic style shifting to the Ford 4 spd since that's exactly what BAs do but as to how you'd retrofit it to an older car I wouldn't have a clue.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 154

Joined: 10th Dec 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2004 BA XR6T

Location: PERTH
WA, Australia

it is for a el 6 another suggestion i thought was cut one of the wires of the ecu that makes the auto change when your in drive ??

 

_________________

04 BA XR6t auto
93 eb falcon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cowboy's at work hey?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

You would have to take control of the 4 shift solenoids in the transmission to have manual control of shifts.
Dellboy999 has put a BA shifter in his car and has the Sports Shift working so it is possible.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:58 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

unplug your cluster (or pull the fuse for it). The auto will go into limp mode, and will stay in third, unless you tell it otherwise.

(hint, ECU no longer gets speed signal, thus won't change auto).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

It is possible witht he V8's because they run a seperate trans computer and as said you can just cut the speed signal input to it and then control it manually. But with the I6, the trans computer is integrated with the EEC so if you cut the spedo signal you also affect a number of EEC fuctions too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 5:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

best way would be to find out how to reprogram the ECU section that controls the tranny

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 8:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Yeah disconnecting the VSS on an 8 does the trick. But it still takes way too long to change gears after being told to do so.

Fueltronics used to sell a replacement trans control computer for EF/EL. Was over $1000 and i dont think its available anymore. Seemed pretty cool, button shifter etc.

Or yeah - have a look at dellboy's work and adapt the BA ECU to control the box. Maybe ecu from the t-series? Had 5 speed manual control of auto - 4 speeds and TC lockup on button shift on the steering wheel.

Or retrofit a non-electric transmission and fit a full-manual valve body.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:06 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 379

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Meekathara
WA, Australia

Probably better,cheaper and easier to buy and fit manual box! :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

How do the control lines work? One signal requests up-shift, One a downshift?

You could perhaps do something with the voltage from the gear selector potentiometer, that way you could force downchanges. Then use a relay to disconnect one (both?) control lines and it will stay in gear???? Probabily send it into limp home mode.

 

_________________

Manual EL Gli.
Mods: Crow Stg3, Chiptorque Dynotune. Lukey Exhaust. DBA slotted rotors, EBC Pads. Whiteline Low Susp. EL GT Swaybars, ROH Envy 17 x235 wheels. Vehicle Datalogger Display V2.0,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

MO wrote:
Probably better,cheaper and easier to buy and fit manual box! :shock:


The problem with a manual though is they're pretty useless in stop-start city traffic since no sooner do you get them up to speed you have to change back down to first again. A semi-automatic box would be the best compromise: the convenience of automatic shifts in the city and the flexibility of manual shifts when you get out onto the highway.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Spork wrote:
How do the control lines work? One signal requests up-shift, One a downshift?

You could perhaps do something with the voltage from the gear selector potentiometer, that way you could force downchanges. Then use a relay to disconnect one (both?) control lines and it will stay in gear???? Probabily send it into limp home mode.


Yeah matti had something remotely similar where buttons where changing resistance being fed to the ECU.

The removal of VSS in the V8 has similar effect is spose - the box will go into whatever gear you tell it to. i.e. can take off in 3rd if you feel the need. The main problem is the way it shifts - it still takes its sweet time.

Fitting a t5 the obvious choice but but that behind a blown windsor and see how long it lasts.... would be my choice for an n/a tho.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 12:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 256

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: AU1 XR6 VCT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Easy, get a ChipTorque chip and get them to set the shift change points to be after the engine cut out. Presto, instant manualised auto. It will never change... and will probably drive you insane.. and kill your auto on the downshifts.

 

_________________

Image
AU XR6 VCT 14.57 @ 92.92mph.
Auto - NA - Unopened
Proudly tuned and prepared by G&D Performance Tuning - Get the Edge!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 912

Joined: 22nd Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: FNQ
QLD, Australia

Chiptorque used to sell a kit to give tiptronic style control for auto tranny - it was about $700 or thereabouts - it gave you either one or two shift levers behind the steering wheel and a gear indicator display. Their site is up to s**t now compared to how it used to be and that info just isn't there anymore - so I spose calling them would be the only option.

 

_________________

96 EF Auto GLi - Bilstein Shocks - Adjustable Front sway bar - JMM Cam - TI Perf J3 - TCI 2500/3000 stall converter. 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names