Fordmods Logo

Is my shaft inside the box far enough? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 205

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

:lol: Thats a bit rude.

but anyway, after having the car up on hoists for new suspension, the guy was a bit curious as to why the tailshaft "appeared" to be a little far outside of the gearbox. As per the pic, does this look normal or is it wrong? My unexpert opinion tells me the shiny Vs rusty look doesnt seem right to me?

Diff ratio was changed a couple months back but this shouldnt change shaft length, and engine removed / put back together last year sometime, but I dont think this would change position much either?

The gearbox also seems to be slipping instead of spinning the wheels - there's enough power there, but instead of spinning the wheels (should be easy on a single spinner) it just slips the revs?? Is this a gearbox thing (serviced 1year ago) or a diff thing?

thanks in advance.

 

 

Attachments:
Image013.jpg
Image013.jpg [ 214.4 KiB | Viewed 26 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

The tailshaft has been moving in & out a bit ( polished area. ).
If the auto is slipping, may need rebuilding.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 844

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Was this photo taken with load on the rear wheels, or on a hoist? When the suspension is compressed, the gap between the gearbox seal & tailshaft yoke will decrease. Can you check when the car is on ramps? There needs to be a minimum of 25mm gap to allow for things like road humps compressing the suspension (so a tailshaft repairer said).

Sounds like you have a gearbox related problem....possibly bands need adjusting. How old's the gearbox? I have a Honda Civic that does the same thing.

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

If its an EF onwards box, there are no band adjustments.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 4:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 205

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

yes, photo was taken with car on ground, not on hoist. Original gearbox 96 model EF.

Is the shaft supposed to move in and out or to what degree?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 11:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

rdiigen wrote:
yes, photo was taken with car on ground, not on hoist. Original gearbox 96 model EF.

Is the shaft supposed to move in and out or to what degree?


Yes, the shaft does move in & out, as the rear suspension moves in a sort of arc.
So, at ride height, the shaft is out, and at full hang, the shaft is in a bit, and at full compression, the shaft is in, too.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 11:25 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 300

Joined: 8th Aug 2008

Ride: BA XR8

Location: newy
NSW, Australia

:lol: the name makes me laugh haha

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 11:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The original trans may have had a dust boot on the extension housing seal. Also have you had the car lowered as the driveshaft appears to be rising up to the the rear. Also have you had work done on the rear lower/upper control arms as this can alter the position of the diff. Anyways it is out a bit more than normal but the slip yoke has a sufficient amount in the trans.

The driveshaft i made for my EL has the SYD on the slip yoke but its also around 25mm longer than yours. You can see the wear marks on mine as it slips in and out of the trans (around 15mm)

 

 

Attachments:
DSC01880.JPG
DSC01880.JPG [ 82.53 KiB | Viewed 24 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 11:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

cjh wrote:
If its an EF onwards box, there are no band adjustments.


they can be by useing shims but its an internal adjustment and is not normally needed.

i did have the work shop diagram of them but lost it, it showed a shim type arrangement were the bands can be adjusted.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Is my shaft inside the box far enough?
Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 2:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 205

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

Yes the car is lowered and up until last week, it was still running on the original shocks, so up and down movement at the rear was horrendous. Original control arms and rubbers all round too, soon to be done.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names