Fordmods Logo

Limp mode with Barra swap 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Limp mode with Barra swap
Posted: Wed May 04, 2016 12:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 3

Joined: 4th May 2016

Location: launceston
TAS, Australia

Im currently working on an EB falcon which is running a Barra engine with a EF automatic gearbox. The gearbox is running off an EF ECU which as been wired up specifically to control the auto only. Everything appears to be wired correctly, and I have no fault codes relating to the automatic. Currently, the EF ECU has been spliced into the BA loom to pick up the crank angle sensor, TPS signal, speed signal, and vehicle speed. Where would be good place to start looking to work out if its a mechanical problem or electrical? I have never seen this gearbox operating before either.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Limp mode with Barra swap
Posted: Wed May 04, 2016 11:23 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14510

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

what engine codes are the ef ecu putting out?

is the ef ecu definately getting crank signal?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Limp mode with Barra swap
Posted: Fri May 06, 2016 2:34 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 3

Joined: 4th May 2016

Location: launceston
TAS, Australia

Id have to re scan the ECU can't remember all the codes. They where mostly to do with engine related things like map sensor, power steer pressure switch, AIT señor etc. One code i did get was about the ECU being immobilised due to lack of smartlock.

I definatly have a crank angle sensor signal becuase I'm using the EF ECU to also operate my tacho which works
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Limp mode with Barra swap
Posted: Fri May 06, 2016 3:32 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14510

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

Not having smartlock disabled might be the cause..
if smartlock is dissabling the engine part of the ecu then you wont get any trans functions
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Limp mode with Barra swap
Posted: Fri May 06, 2016 3:57 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 3

Joined: 4th May 2016

Location: launceston
TAS, Australia

I did suspect that might be the case. Most people I talk to say that smartlock only shuts down injector pulse and the fuel pump
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names