Lowering rear of BA MKII Ute 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: Lowering rear of BA MKII Ute
Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2021 8:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: BA MKII Ute

NSW, Australia

Hi there,

First post, it's my late Father's car, just a standard BA MKII Ute.

I'm giving it love it was long denied, lots of maintenance which it is overdue.
Trying to keep it budget conscious, but I can see it's very tempting to get carried away.

I'm not a mechanical newbie, just learning the ins and outs of this car.

It was up for 4 new tyres for rego, so I opted for 4 19" alloys with 80% tyres which I got for $500.

Anyway, I need to do the RHS rear axle oil seal and while I've been researching the job and looking at the car, I noticed that there's three 10mm blocks below the suspension leaves on the rear.

I've done quite a bit of reading, as many have stated lowering blocks can interfere with the lower shock mount.

Now before I go an undo the u-bolts and see if I can move two of the blocks above the leaves - I know this sounds too simple to be possible...am I completely off target?

I know you can get the suspension leaves reset lower, but I am really attempting to keep this in check $$ wise, because although the car has sentimental value, it's not worth lots of $$ being spent on it.

Just a little bit lower and would look a little bit better as the back rides very high without any weight in it.

peace out

Glenn

Post subject: Re: Lowering rear of BA MKII Ute
Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2021 8:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie

Ride: '03 BA & '06 BF Wagooons

VIC, Australia

ruckusman wrote:
Hi there,

First post, it's my late Father's car, just a standard BA MKII Ute.

I'm giving it love it was long denied, lots of maintenance which it is overdue.
Trying to keep it budget conscious, but I can see it's very tempting to get carried away.

I'm not a mechanical newbie, just learning the ins and outs of this car.