Fordmods Logo

Probs...Shift Down 4th to 3rd 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Probs...Shift Down 4th to 3rd
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 3:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 649

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Hey there,

Ive got an EB 4 speed auto and have a slight problem...

I can shift down into 3rd sometimes (whilst in motion, say coming
down a steep hill), ....but on some occasions she wont shift down
athough the T-bar is at 3 and the trans just stays in 4th....

Any suggestions as to what the problem might be...??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:21 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

... are you sure it's in 4th?
If its not staying in gear, then its one of the solenoids.. I can't remember which one off by heart... but one that takes care of gear changes.

Also might wanna check your oil levels?

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 649

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Well, we lost a bunch of posts here, but
nevertheless the problem has been fixed.

Took it to the mechanic yesterday and he just
cleaned out all the contacts and reset the height
of some bit 1/8th of an inch up (sorry cant remember
the name of it). Cost: $25.

Inhibitor and solenoids all OK.
Have driven 80km in it, changing into 3rd for testing
here and there. All OK thus far.

Thanks for all your help.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

adjusted the bands perhaps?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 649

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Quote:
adjusted the bands perhaps?


Couldnt say really.....
I think it was more in the t-bar shifter area,
inside the console there.

Sorry, cant be more definitive. He told me twice,
and I still didnt get it, so I didnt ask a third time......
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol, oh well... all works. Good to hear.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:29 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names