Fordmods Logo

Re-wire solenoids BTR93 transmission behind BA Barra DOHC 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Re-wire solenoids BTR93 transmission behind BA Barra DOHC
Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:00 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 133

Joined: 6th Nov 2005

Ride: XHII ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I am putting a BA motor into a XH ute.
I am using BTR93LE transmission, running off BA PCM.
I have compared all wiring & pins at the round connector on the side of the trans & everything is identical between XH - ba except wire colours are different (which means nothing)
I have compared wiring inside the transmissions and looking at both factory manuals it seems the same.
I have read that the BA ecm controls the solenoids differently and the internal wiring loom needs to be modified and/or replaced.
Can anyone please explain whats required??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-wire solenoids BTR93 transmission behind BA Barra DOHC
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 133

Joined: 6th Nov 2005

Ride: XHII ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ive found my answer after contacting a local transmission rebuilder.
I should've just called them in the first place.
The short answer is no you can't use an EF-EL-AU BTR93 behind a BA.
Internal wiring, solenoids, valvebody is different.
So i am going to reflash my BA ecu as a manual and control the auto from the XH ecu.
Its a pity I would like to be able to play with the transmission shiftpoints etc with VCM suite but I can't justify spending the money on a used BA auto that is weaker.
Ive read that the earlier eb-ed tcm only needs a tps signal so I will find out if this is the case with the XH.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-wire solenoids BTR93 transmission behind BA Barra DOHC
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

luke, the early TCM needs TPS and RPM, so you would need a tacho converter to use it with the BA engine. for all the messing around its probably cheaper and easier to just put a BA auto in it.
Either that or put a manual controller on it and run it full manual
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names