Fordmods Logo

Shift Kit - Do it yourself 

 

Page 2 of 53 [ 785 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 53  Next

 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 11:32 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Rapier wrote:
Image


Its says the wires are numbered and to use number 71 and 81
BUT mine only numberd from 1 to 60

i have an EL Fairmont

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:12 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 48

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon Gli

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Just had a look at the diagram for El's. It looks exactly the same, except pin 71 is actually pin 57, and pin 81 is pin 38. Other than that it should use the same resistors and the same setup.

 

_________________

Burp

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

neds wrote:
Just had a look at the diagram for El's. It looks exactly the same, except pin 71 is actually pin 57, and pin 81 is pin 38. Other than that it should use the same resistors and the same setup.


Your a Champ ... thanks for that :D :D :D

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:59 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

neds wrote:
Just had a look at the diagram for El's. It looks exactly the same, except pin 71 is actually pin 57, and pin 81 is pin 38. Other than that it should use the same resistors and the same setup.


All done .... shift kit in and running great .... this is easy and cheep to do

And it make a big difference :twisted:

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: el are diferent wat colour wires are they
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 6:45 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 154

Joined: 10th Dec 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2004 BA XR6T

Location: PERTH
WA, Australia

fswfsfsfsdfsdfw

 

_________________

04 BA XR6t auto
93 eb falcon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: el are diferent wat colour wires are they
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 2:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

falcongli6 wrote:
fswfsfsfsdfsdfw


Wtf mate?

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 12:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

sweet as, made mine couple of days ago, its a beauty, did a bit of a rice thing though and used a missile switch (but its in the centre console :))

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 2:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

hmm im gonna do mine with a button the same as the econ switch and put it near the otherone somewhere
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 3:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 48

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon Gli

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The button i got is a round one that fits perfectly where the cigarette lighter goes. I put it there and looks pretty good, doesnt stand out too much. and i dont need the lighter anyway

 

_________________

Burp

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 8:10 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 55

Posts: 95

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Giha

Location: Redcliffe
QLD, Australia

Just a quicky - Why are these mods only available for EB+?

 

_________________

Weapon - EA Fairmont Ghia - Pedders lows, Neothane,

From another biker - Scott, you rode hard, lived hard, loved hard, Thanx's for your advice and RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 8:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

i would think you can use it with an EA MPI, then use an engine computer dont they?

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:42 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 55

Posts: 95

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Giha

Location: Redcliffe
QLD, Australia

mrnasty wrote:
i would think you can use it with an EA MPI, then use an engine computer dont they?


The Ghia has a ECU and a 4speed. The factory date is stamped Sept 99. Might have to look in to this a bit further :)

 

_________________

Weapon - EA Fairmont Ghia - Pedders lows, Neothane,

From another biker - Scott, you rode hard, lived hard, loved hard, Thanx's for your advice and RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

japa - your EA has a seperate trans ECU, so the pinouts/instructions for the EB upwards V8's should be the one you are after

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:21 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 314

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Cairns, Far North Queensland
QLD, Australia

Just wondering, if it would be possible to wire up the shift kit, so that when ecconomy mode, it shifts normaly, but when in power mode, its shifts harder? Hope that makes sense......

 

_________________

EL GLI, White
Power windows, Fairmont/Ghia door trims, converted to manual, extractors, zorst, wade cam, stereo, Tickford ECU, Tickford body kit, XR wheel.....

Mods to come: 3:45 LSD sitting in shed!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Low Na wrote:
Just wondering, if it would be possible to wire up the shift kit, so that when ecconomy mode, it shifts normaly, but when in power mode, its shifts harder? Hope that makes sense......


yeah i wondered about this too. it wouldnt work tho, as you need a switch with 3 tabs coming out of the back (1 in centre, 1 either side). you may have to go to jaycar and get the nicest looking switch you can find. they have a pretty good range to choose from. adding an led is cool to, to let you know if it is on, although the sore neck will do that just fine.....
[/img]

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 53  [ 785 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 53  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:02 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names