Fordmods Logo

Speedo Correction Problems 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Speedo Correction Problems
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Ok,
I fitted the Jaycar Speedo corrector today and it works beautifully. My speedo was out 13.33%, so i set the corrector for 13% and tested it with the GPS, all good so far.
Here is where it gets interesting!!!
I have now lost the Trip computer. No Trip comp at all. Would the modified signal to the speedo cause this, If so is there any way around it.
What has happened is that basically it is as though the trip comp is not recieving and power on signal. If i press one of the buttons the clock displays, but thats about it. Is this caused due to the speedo corrector is is there some other problem. For the installation of the speedo corrector i cut Pin 4 on the right hand cluster connector( Speed signal in) and fed one side into the corrector, then the output of the corrector back to the speedo. For power, i tapped into the acc relay fuse, and grounded it to the body.
On a side not, using the corrector has not resulted in Auto Computer problems. The box is changing as per factory. Any input would be appreciated
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Doesnt sound like tripmeter is getting data output from cluster??

Didnt knock/bend/short anything whilst you were wrestling with it all?

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Hope not, will check it out in the morning. Not in the mood now as i have been playing with it all afternoon. Wanted an accurate speedo for the journey to Melbourne tomorro.
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yer u would want an accurate speedo over here... 3 km's over and ur gone

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1013

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: MY06 REX

Location: Perthoslavakia
WA, Australia

I agree with Martin. If your speedo is getting signal, then your trip computer should be. I guess the best way to find out is to unhook the corrector and see if the trip comp works again.
I personally dont like those correctors, give mal woods a call and get him to send you the correct speedo gear to match your diff and gearbox. only costs around $40.

 

_________________

The Evil Strawberry

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 11:13 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 159

Joined: 16th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hmm interesting idea. What caused you to believe that the speedo was out.
My ED Sprint speedo is out by about 5ks at 60-80 and about 8/9ks at about 100km/h. As I ahve a trip computer fitted (std Ford factory unit) If I press the resent on the average km/H and keep the car at a constant speed (vic CC) the trip computer tends (I believe) to show the correct speed where as the speedo is out.. This would suggest that the gear on the sensor in the gear box is right and my speedo has gone out.... May be easier to get the speedo recalibrated by VDO in my case...

 

_________________

'94 ED XR8 Sprint

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 11:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

My speedo is out cause i went to 3.91 gears
Will try mal wood next week
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

bdennis wrote:
Hmm interesting idea. What caused you to believe that the speedo was out.
My ED Sprint speedo is out by about 5ks at 60-80 and about 8/9ks at about 100km/h. As I ahve a trip computer fitted (std Ford factory unit) If I press the resent on the average km/H and keep the car at a constant speed (vic CC) the trip computer tends (I believe) to show the correct speed where as the speedo is out.. This would suggest that the gear on the sensor in the gear box is right and my speedo has gone out.... May be easier to get the speedo recalibrated by VDO in my case...


May also suggest that the needle position on the spindle is out. Where does the needle sit when stationary?
As I have the same problem but only 3-4 Ks @ 100km/h

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 4:34 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 159

Joined: 16th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Madax,
Nah it is at 0 when stopped. So must need a recalibration...

 

_________________

'94 ED XR8 Sprint

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Mad2 and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names