Fordmods Logo

speedo corrector 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: speedo corrector
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

does the jaycar speedo corrector alter the odometer as well or just the speedo. i had never really given it much thought and assumed that the odo ran off the speedo. a guy at work reckons he was told it only changes the speedo and the odo keeps clocking up the km's like it used to.

can anyone confirm this.

also to those that have used them, where did you mount it/install it, and what did you use for power (pos/neg).

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 23rd Jul 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: FBT002

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I had one in my old NC fairlane. Does both speedo and odom. I installed it at the back of the dash behind trip computer and aircon ducting. I powered it off the instriment cluster ignition switched supply (not the constant supply).

hope that helps
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

thanks mate. thats exactly what i wanted to know. if it wasn't going to change the odo as well i wasn't going to bother with it.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: speedo corector
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:48 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 177

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EF FAIRMONT

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

does it correct the stift point in your auto or just the speedo/odometer thats somthing to think about

 

_________________

WOLF V500, t66(ar70 compressor), rochester 550cc injectors, borgg 265l fuel pump, 48mm turbosmart gate, turbosmart plumb back bov, 600x300x100 cooler, 3 inch zorst , 3.45 lsd, xr6 head, wade 1604 cam, adjustable cam gear, K&N pod filter, on 10psi and manual convertion exedy button clutch. 285.6rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

shift points don't seem to be affected. already put black (23 tooth) drive gear in box and shift points stayed same. its an eb1 if athat makes any difference. either way if the shift points are affected i can jst put the original speedo gear back in and adjust using the jaycar corrector. as far as i know the corrector has no bearing on the shift pattern.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:24 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

is the corector accurate for both spedo and odo?

or it is accurate for spedo, out for odo
accurate odo out for speed

or do u guys set a "happy" point inbetween?

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

i'm assuming the odo runs off the speedo so if i 'correct' the speedo the odo will also be 'corrected'

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:27 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 23rd Jul 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: FBT002

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yep thats right, odo runs off speedo, so correct the speedo and the odo runs correctly too. I dont know about auto shift points as I only installed a speedo corrector after converting me old lane to a manual. But it depends on where you tap into the speedo signal. you can tap into it before it branches off to the EEC and dash then both will see the correct speed, altho this wasnt the way I did it. also a tip for setting it up, I found the default 0.5sec update time worked best for me if you try for a quicker time the speed signal jumps up and down a fair bit :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

i didn't notice any sort of 'update time' adjustment on mine. jst adjustment for % speedo is out.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:56 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 23rd Jul 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: FBT002

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I had the mk2 version of the kit and it was an option when setting up only. the default works well ne ways.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

mine is also the mk2 jaycar version. went to install it today only to find it says to have it on some 'lk2' setting for +5v or something and i don't know how to make sure if the jumpers/links are accross the right terminals. can u offer any advice in this regard.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:54 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 302

Joined: 29th Nov 2006

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: au futura

Location: se melbourne
VIC, Australia

i cant even get my speedo to work hooked it up rite to and its put the car into limp mode but yet the small led flashes like the instructions say anyone know what could be rong

 

_________________

now have a series 1 au starting the mods slowly
now have a xw wagon to restore

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:56 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 23rd Jul 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: FBT002

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I basicly just followed the install guide, which sadly I no longer have... the link I think your talking about has three options for the type of input?? I dont think I had it set for a 5v input but I had it set for auto detect of input type. If you can give me more info as to the options would help, as I said I havnt got the booklet ne more :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

to update i have installed mine and all is working as it should. ended up with links on lk2 and lk4.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

ok i know im digging up and old topic but it answered most my questions but i have a few more:

my car is eb wagon, im installing 3.9lsd and 18inch wheels

1. has any1 used this http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.as ... &SUBCATID= ?

2. any good?

3. how hard?

4. should i use a black gear to get my speedo reading a little closer first??
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names