Fordmods Logo

T5 conversion - will loom plug into car?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: T5 conversion - will loom plug into car??
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

hey guys

EBII Auto

Converting to manual

I have the manual loom, will this plug straight into the loom on the car??

yes/no

Image

Image

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:31 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it did on ugly's car
no idea onyours...

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

hey mate good to see you got your aussie safety boots on ;)

sorry im not much help to your cause though lol

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

I'll stick to the same answers I gave here: http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=42247

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
I'll stick to the same answers I gave here: http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=42247


s**t mate sorry i didnt read that properly..

Okay.. Pin out has to be rearragned.. any info about that???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Did you get the dampener for the clutch fork?
I think you can buy it seperately but check first. You wouldn't wanna install the box and find out the fork has to be replaced!
Just something i spotted

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Krytox wrote:
Did you get the dampener for the clutch fork?
I think you can buy it seperately but check first. You wouldn't wanna install the box and find out the fork has to be replaced!
Just something i spotted


Dampener for the fork?? huh


Any information about the pin outs??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

My XH uses EF plug convention and the auto/manual looms match, so it matches the reply earlier about the EF's matching up.
EA-ED, well, not the same unfortunately . . . . .

glenneaux wrote:
s**t mate sorry i didnt read that properly..
NP. I'd assumed when you said all was good, that's as far as it went.

glenneaux wrote:
Okay.. Pin out has to be rearragned.. any info about that???
Yeah, I've got some EB/ED auto/manual looms that I listed the wires and ID'ed what they were.
Get your first pic (which I assume is the manual g/box loom), number the pins, e.g. (^ is the click in retainer) The numbering is if you were looking at the exposed pins side.

....^....
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8

And give me the wire colours for each pin.
Do the same for the engine bay loom side (note how the numbers are mirror image to match up when connected):

....^....
4 3 2 1
8 7 6 5

Or just base it on my diagrams - biggest thing, don't F*ck it up - need accuracy here . . . .

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
My XH uses EF plug convention and the auto/manual looms match, so it matches the reply earlier about the EF's matching up.
EA-ED, well, not the same unfortunately . . . . .

glenneaux wrote:
s**t mate sorry i didnt read that properly..
NP. I'd assumed when you said all was good, that's as far as it went.

glenneaux wrote:
Okay.. Pin out has to be rearragned.. any info about that???
Yeah, I've got some EB/ED auto/manual looms that I listed the wires and ID'ed what they were.
Get your first pic (which I assume is the manual g/box loom), number the pins, e.g. (^ is the click in retainer) The numbering is if you were looking at the exposed pins side.

....^....
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8

And give me the wire colours for each pin.
Do the same for the engine bay loom side (note how the numbers are mirror image to match up when connected):

....^....
4 3 2 1
8 7 6 5

Or just base it on my diagrams - biggest thing, don't F*ck it up - need accuracy here . . . .



Excellent.. succulent juicy information..

So if i rearrange the wires I can plug it in to my auto engine loom with my auto ecu and everything should work (obvioulsy coupled with the resistor trick..)????

I've been speaking to antoher member and he reckons i can plug it in but cant plug in the neutral switch as it will probably blow up the ecu?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:58 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

glenneaux wrote:
So if i rearrange the wires I can plug it in to my auto engine loom with my auto ecu and everything should work (obvioulsy coupled with the resistor trick..)????
I've been speaking to antoher member and he reckons i can plug it in but cant plug in the neutral switch as it will probably blow up the ecu?
The connectors in the rectangular plug are held in by thin metal fingers, release it with a thin instrument screwdriver, and the wire and pin will pull out. The auto inhibitor switch/manual neutral switch both use ECU pins 30 & 46, so the corresponding pin in the manual loom rectangular plug just needs to be pulled and taped up.
As I said in your other thread, the existing auto loom (rectangular and round plugs) can be modified and plugged back in, as an option.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names