Fordmods Logo

v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:25 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 30

Joined: 5th Nov 2011

Ride: eb xr6

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

hey guys

are t5 out a v8 the same as a t5 out of a straight 6 ?

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

No, Input shaft is longer on the v8's

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:44 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

and ratios are different aswell..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:09 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 250

Joined: 12th Jun 2005

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: BA XR6T, 93 EB XR8, ZJ 351

Location: Nelson Bay
NSW, Australia

6 cyl t5 can be used behind v8 if you use a specific dellow bellhousing to bring the box closer to the block but you need to lengthen your tailshaft. Or you can get the input shaft lengthened.

 

_________________

93 EB S-XR8 5 SPEED,
EBGT RIMS, AU MAF, AU T/B, BOXED POD, CAI,
ELGT EXTRACTORS & SPRINT EXHAUST

BAXR6T Lowered, Kompact BOV thats all....so far
ZJ 351 Fairlane, a work in "slow" progress

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:17 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 30

Joined: 5th Nov 2011

Ride: eb xr6

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Ahh right cheers guys

What about commodore t5s ? Same as ford ?

Just did a manual conversion to ind out this box is rooted

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Commydoor S5 is adjustable. Need to drop the pan each time to adjust them. Has a Commy S5 in mine at the moment and at the next Auto service it will be coming out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:27 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 2327

Joined: 6th Oct 2005

Ride: 93EB Fairmont / BA Falcon XR6T

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
Commydoor S5 is adjustable. Need to drop the pan each time to adjust them. Has a Commy S5 in mine at the moment and at the next Auto service it will be coming out.


Umm Paul hes talking about a T5 not an S5. Lol.

 

_________________

93 EB II Fairmon8 with 17' EL GT's / Clear indicators / H.I.Ds / Sports exhaust / Lowered 2' / K&N / XR6 ECU.
2004 BA MKI XR6T in Lightning Strike paint / K&N / XR8 bonnet / BF lights and a few tweaks.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2515

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG MkII Xr6t Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

But to answer the question, no...Commodore v6 & v8 input shaft lengths are different to both ford boxes and (I believe) also different to each other.

Assuming this is for your ED xr6, you'll need any E series 6 cylinder box. Later ones are better boxes (and most likely lower kms), but in reality buyer beware no matter what box you get.

 

_________________

EVL098 wrote:
Cramping in the hand from having it on your Wang for an excessive period of time is a definate con.
Seriously do people google "f**k up modifications for Fords owned by Jews" and get linked straight to this site nowadays?

AU,factory fitted tickford kit/IRS, t5,Sports ryder/KYB: gone.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: v8 t5 same as stright 6 t5 ?
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:03 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

93EB wrote:
SWC wrote:
Commydoor S5 is adjustable. Need to drop the pan each time to adjust them. Has a Commy S5 in mine at the moment and at the next Auto service it will be coming out.


Umm Paul hes talking about a T5 not an S5. Lol.


Bloody old idiot.. I posted it in the wrong thread... Duh
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names