Fordmods Logo

what is wrong with my lights? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: what is wrong with my lights?
Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 6:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

this morning i noticed a very weird problem with my tail lights.

IGNITION ON:

With the headlights turned OFF, the brake lamps are constantly on,

With the headlights turned ON, the brake lamp dont operate, nor do the tail lights.

I've disconnected te brake pedal switch, and still the same, but the brake lights arnt on when the headlights are off. the taillights still dont opperate with the headlights on even with the brake switch disconnected.

i consider myself to be technically minded and its got me f**k. Can anyone help me??

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 9:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Yeah, bit of a strange one.
Remove the LH & RH parker/brake combo globes.
Install the brake switch (I'm assuming you've checked it and it's okay).

Turn parkers on - do you get front parkers ??
Parkers off, ign on, short the brake light switch - does the high mount light come on ??

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

seems like an earthing problem.

Ever had the dash out? you the know the earth wire that bolt on just at the base of the windscreen? I missed these when i put my dash back the last week and had the same problem you're having.

Not saying it's what wrong with your car, but it very much sounds like an aerthing problem

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 10:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 704

Joined: 19th May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Does indeed sound like an earthing problem.

Or posibly a relay?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

lol, just checked this thread after fixing it. you's were spot on with the bad earth.

it was a combination of a bad earth coming off the tail light loom to the frame, and a rooted brake pedal switch. Cleaned the earth and rebolted it to the frame, bingo, got tail lights. Constant brake lights until i disconnect the pedal switch so thats getting replaced tomorrow.

8-) sweet, another trip to the auto elec avoided.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 15

Joined: 3rd Aug 2006

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

I've got the no brake light issues like a lot of other peoples. Checked fuses and the rest of the common crap. After running through the forum I think it might be the switch, but I can't find the switch pictured here http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=23
The only thing I found was this. http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n130 ... switch.jpg
Is this just another type or am I looking in the wrong place? If I missed, how close am I?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

miles away.
Thats either another cars switch or a aftermarket clutch switch.


you need this:
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BRAKE-LIGHT-SWIT ... dZViewItem
(repco have them for about $10)

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 7:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 15

Joined: 3rd Aug 2006

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

Hmmm, I have an automatic, and that's the only switch I can see.
I'll go take a piccy of where I pulled it from.
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n130 ... o-0010.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n130 ... o-0009.jpg

hmmm. I pulled the sod out and those pics confuse me.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:29 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names