Fordmods Logo

WHO CAN HELP ME FIND MY LOST 'OVERDRIVE' ----- Pleeease! 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks, guys for the advice(attempts). It goes from 3rd to neutral instead of Overdrive, as you lift of a bit on the accelerator and the rev's drop sharply 'till the throttle position is equalled, and then it is in third again. As you slow down the rev's drop back with the gears so that when you start off again you climb back through the gears to third and a little over 3000 revs. The gearbox oil is showing at the correct level when checked with a 'hot' gearbox and the engine running. The dash display reads 'D' for drive even though it is in third, and when the shifter is pulled back into 3rd the display changes to third but the Tacho reads the same, and the engine note stays the same. It is NOt 'frozen' in 3rd gear. Resetting the ECU doesn't make a difference.
i
I'm still not sure what to do, or where to go?
Thanks again
Top_Cat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

as soon as you sort this problem pm me and post it up my gearbox is doing similair things soit is going into a sludebox mechanic

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:05 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Froudy,
I'm due at the g'box 'specialist' in the morning.It is 200klm (round trip) of third gear driving away, but I'll let you know what he says, tomorrow.
Top_Cat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

cheers it would be appercative.. i suppose your finding as i m you are using more fuel etc. it is just plan annoying with a car reving somewhat, now i know why you asked on here first 200km is a long drive to a "specialist"

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

I have a netural position switch if you want to try it. I got a 2nd hand one for mine to see if that would work but no dice.

Mine is in LHM untill its hot then turn it off and back on and its good as gold. Nice big hill helps..

But i got a T5 soon:)

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:32 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

O.K. Froudy,
I'm Baaaack! After putting the 'diagnostic tool into the appropriate port in the fuse-box, the g'box 'specialist' gave me the 'good' news. "It's NOT an electrical problem."
Then he gave me the 'Bad' news. Therefore it must be a 'gearbox (hydraulic)' problem. Somewhere between $250.00 and $2,500.00 to fix."
In the absence of any other assistance it is booked in for next Tuesday to be 'opened up' and the underlying cause determined.
Now, I'm going back to bed. I think I have a headache!
Top_Cat

 

 

Attachments:
Ford.JPG
Ford.JPG [ 36.03 KiB | Viewed 42 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 2

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Location: Hunter Valley
NSW, Australia

I have heard of a EB 3.9 lit auto electronic overdrive having a similar problem
solution , installed a new battery ( old battery was down on voltage ,started ok , every thing else worked fine, But did not have enough power to drive electronic overdrive)
borrow a good battery to check
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:14 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

To WJF_XR,
Today I tried a'brand new' battery in my NF Failaine, and I took It out onto the highway. I would like to tell you that 'Overdrive' magically returned, but, unfortunately, it is still 'missing.
Thanks for the try, though. It shows how desperate I am; I'll try almost anything. Any other thoughts??????????????
Top_Cat

 

 

Attachments:
'37 De Luxe Coupe.JPG
'37 De Luxe Coupe.JPG [ 12.37 KiB | Viewed 45 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

been there done that... just a thought do you have any kickdown??? cause the power and economy switch kicks down to 2nd in mine then up to 3rd at the right time but that's it, and yeah no kickdown on the acllerator pedal

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

So what model car do ya have top cat? Is it an NF fairlane?

I have a diagnostic box to suit eb2 - el falcons.. it picks up all sorts of things.
its probably something stupid and simple by the way.
what side of town are you on... im on the northside.
pm me if you want.
sambo

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:16 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 72

Joined: 9th Sep 2006

Ride: 2010 g6e turbo

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

Top_Cat wrote:
O.K. Froudy,
I'm Baaaack! After putting the 'diagnostic tool into the appropriate port in the fuse-box, the g'box 'specialist' gave me the 'good' news. "It's NOT an electrical problem."
Then he gave me the 'Bad' news. Therefore it must be a 'gearbox (hydraulic)' problem. Somewhere between $250.00 and $2,500.00 to fix."
In the absence of any other assistance it is booked in for next Tuesday to be 'opened up' and the underlying cause determined.
Now, I'm going back to bed. I think I have a headache!
Top_Cat


hmm $2500 is a bit rich i had to get my trans fully reon'd just over a year ago and it was $2300 although insurance covered some of the cost which makes me think that the price may have been jacked up. i totaly regret getting it done though as i could have got a manual conversion done and still had some change to buy a drink to drown my sorrows. this price relates to a eb 5.0L 4 spd tranny

 

_________________

2010 G6E TURBO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 63

Posts: 168

Joined: 31st Oct 2006

Ride: 4.0 EL/dads taxi

Location: Kingaroy
QLD, Australia

My ef has similar troubles thought it was third position on shifter but it was going from 2nd to neutral and only when temp gauge on bottom line. Any hotter or colder and it would be ok, just the temp of going round town!
I found that it wasn't the 3rd/od change but rather the 2nd/3rd change.
I twigged to this when the revs stayed the same whether in (manual) 2nd or 3rd. od was neutral.
It has to be a solenoid that operates/deenergises in the 2nd/3rd shift as rocking shifter slowly from 2nd to 3rd eventually clears problem for rest of that trip. Interested to know what the experts find out. Standard answer-new box.

 

_________________

The thunder of .05 will echoe around Bathurst for ever.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:38 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

G'box 'experts' get it next Tuesday. I might know by Wedenesday. I will post their comment for those interested.
Top_Cat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:49 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 2

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Location: Hunter Valley
NSW, Australia

hi
just a quick thought, by missing I assume you mean the engine.
the plug leads, should be replaced @ 80,000 TO 100,000 kms
distributor cap and rotor button , Models that have them, should be replaced @ 80,000 TO 100,000 kms OR
it could have a faulty coil pack (try Ford Dealer to test)
replace the fuel filter, (under left hand rear door)

Another issue
at about 10 years old these Fords can have over heating problems
REPLACE the radiator ie New one (do not clean)
Models with fan clutches , REPLACE with a FORD unit
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

To WJF_XR
Thanks. I have replaced the plugs and leads about 10,000 ago, air filter, oil etc. Also (new) radiator thermostat and cap. The 'missing' that I am referring to is 'non-existant'! The gear select stays in third gear and 'fails' to shift into overdrive when you lift to allow the revs to 'drop'.
The diagnostic 'tool' has been plugged in and it says 'no faults', which I am told makes it a 'non electrical' problem - probably hydraulic, or physical, and yes, the box has to be opened up, (along with my wallet, no doubt).
Top_Cat

 

 

Attachments:
23.JPG
23.JPG [ 38.26 KiB | Viewed 35 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:56 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names