Fordmods Logo

WTF is full manual auto 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 39 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I think you mean this:

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/sequential-gearbox.htm

btw, this is not the same as tiptronic.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

Timmeh wrote:
E-series autos will stay in gear while the handle is selected in 1, 2 or 3. When going to D i guess it hits 4th if your going fast enough.
I guess its sort of but not quite manualised.


not 100% correct.
if you put the shifter in 3rd, the car will still use 1st, 2nd and 3rd.
a manualised auto will only use the gear you select.
you could launch in 3rd if you were so inclined.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
I think you mean this:

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/sequential-gearbox.htm

btw, this is not the same as tiptronic.


These are another type of gearbox again and are just a different type of manual gearbox (still have a clutch etc). Full manual autos are just auto boxes that require the gear to be manually selected.

Ford planned to release sequential manuals in the AU T-series but the idea was dropped because of high costs. One prototype falcon was built with this gearbox - the EL XR8 sequential. You can read its story here http://www.trueblueford.com/EL_Sequential.html

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:57 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EFFalcon wrote:
Timmeh wrote:
E-series autos will stay in gear while the handle is selected in 1, 2 or 3. When going to D i guess it hits 4th if your going fast enough.
I guess its sort of but not quite manualised.


not 100% correct.
if you put the shifter in 3rd, the car will still use 1st, 2nd and 3rd.
a manualised auto will only use the gear you select.
you could launch in 3rd if you were so inclined.


that would be awesome....so if u can do a wheel spin in 3rd while going 80km/hr.....hero.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

phongus wrote:
EFFalcon wrote:
Timmeh wrote:
E-series autos will stay in gear while the handle is selected in 1, 2 or 3. When going to D i guess it hits 4th if your going fast enough.
I guess its sort of but not quite manualised.


not 100% correct.
if you put the shifter in 3rd, the car will still use 1st, 2nd and 3rd.
a manualised auto will only use the gear you select.
you could launch in 3rd if you were so inclined.


that would be awesome....so if u can do a wheel spin in 3rd while going 80km/hr.....hero.


heheh pyroay's will kick out and spin at 100km/h on the free way if your in 4th and drop it back to 3rd and put the boot in she'll try an 180 :P

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 696

Joined: 15th May 2006

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ba

Location: Boronia
VIC, Australia

Big Kev wrote:
phongus wrote:
EFFalcon wrote:
Timmeh wrote:
E-series autos will stay in gear while the handle is selected in 1, 2 or 3. When going to D i guess it hits 4th if your going fast enough.
I guess its sort of but not quite manualised.


not 100% correct.
if you put the shifter in 3rd, the car will still use 1st, 2nd and 3rd.
a manualised auto will only use the gear you select.
you could launch in 3rd if you were so inclined.


that would be awesome....so if u can do a wheel spin in 3rd while going 80km/hr.....hero.


heheh pyroay's will kick out and spin at 100km/h on the free way if your in 4th and drop it back to 3rd and put the boot in she'll try an 180 :P




that car sounds crazy ;)

 

_________________

Ba Stock As A Rock

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:11 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 62

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Location: here
VIC, Australia

can a 4 speed el xr8 auto be fully manulised
how much power can these 4 speeds take
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

threeprepaid wrote:
can a 4 speed el xr8 auto be fully manulised
how much power can these 4 speeds take


in theory yes, in practice no because nobody has built the hardware you need to do it yet.

The shifts in the 4 speed auto's are all done electronically. Replace the electronics and add a few paddles and you got a manual auto. I did some work with this earlier in the year. Basically you need to make your own electronics to drive the solenoids in the valve body

Image

I had the valve body switching in the correct sequence for the gear changes and designed a board that would drive it all in car but I have too many projects going on at once and since I dont drive a 4 speed car I dont have much motivation to keep working on it. Bascically what is needed is someone with an auto to work out the ramping of the s5 solenoid and the timing of the switching and then it can be finished relatively easy.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok so who wants to build me one of these and how much they want for it???

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 839

Joined: 10th Sep 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: V8 Falcon, Nissan Patrol

Location: Brisbane, Bouncing off 5800RPM
QLD, Australia

My mate has a EB Fairmont 5.0L, now 5.6 :D with a manualised auto - needs it too much power!!! approx 350-400kw at tyres, with standard computer!!!!

 

_________________

1993 Ford Fairmont EB II 5.0L V8 Wagon
1992 Nissan Patrol TI 4.2L Diesel 4x4 Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 839

Joined: 10th Sep 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: V8 Falcon, Nissan Patrol

Location: Brisbane, Bouncing off 5800RPM
QLD, Australia

My mate has a EB Fairmont 5.0L, now 5.6 :D with a manualised auto - needs it too much power!!! approx 350-400kw at tyres, with standard computer!!!!

 

_________________

1993 Ford Fairmont EB II 5.0L V8 Wagon
1992 Nissan Patrol TI 4.2L Diesel 4x4 Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

my mates 10 second VL turbo runs a full manual Jatco, he reckons that at that power level (325rwkw) the full auto setup wont take it so they converted to full manual.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:29 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 330

Joined: 26th Apr 2006

Location: rockingham
WA, Australia

if it only drives in the gear you select.....how would it go taking off in 3rd? would it cause any damage or stall?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

would just take off very slow

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
threeprepaid wrote:
can a 4 speed el xr8 auto be fully manulised
how much power can these 4 speeds take


in theory yes, in practice no because nobody has built the hardware you need to do it yet.

The shifts in the 4 speed auto's are all done electronically. Replace the electronics and add a few paddles and you got a manual auto. I did some work with this earlier in the year. Basically you need to make your own electronics to drive the solenoids in the valve body

Image

I had the valve body switching in the correct sequence for the gear changes and designed a board that would drive it all in car but I have too many projects going on at once and since I dont drive a 4 speed car I dont have much motivation to keep working on it. Bascically what is needed is someone with an auto to work out the ramping of the s5 solenoid and the timing of the switching and then it can be finished relatively easy.


I am particularly interested in doing this mod to an older falcon, just because i can. so obviously each gear has its own independent solenoid, and what would happen if you didnt do anything to S5 while changing gears? also, what kind of resistance do you need to put to s5 to change?

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names