Fordmods Logo

xf t5 into el auto 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: xf t5 into el auto
Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:06 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: 97 EL

QLD, Australia

Hey guys, I Jesse. New here, I have purchesed an Manuel xf, scored it for $125. Only got 120,000 on the clock, body is rooted well beyond repair. But gear seemed real nice so iI am going to put it in my.1997 EL. I am a mechanic, and have a workshop in capalaba, so I have the tools and skills required. A few questions though.

After reading a guide with pictures, the clutch bolted to the flywheel with 6 bolts, on the xt, there is only 3? I was thinking about sending the flywheel down too tbs and getting the to make it custom? Or do I just source out a Manuel EL flywheel? And new clutch? Or... Will the xf one bolt up fine. Any tips, or links to guides on the conversion would be awsome! And also, would having a t5 with the auto diff be quicker then a EL with Manuel diff? Or are the diff ratios the same?

Thanks guys, look forward to being part of the community!

Post subject: Re: xf t5 into el auto
Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

WA, Australia

Xflow bell housing wont fit on the 4l in the el, so you will need another one o them.

autos are quicker off the line and its far easyer to get a different ratio diff put in than a box conversion.

also need bedal box which requires dash out i believe. and as said also flywheel etc..

and T5 is weaker than the btr in the el so if you give it shlt it will give it back in pieces.

BA XT V8. Ice Mint. 18" Speedys. XR6T LSD. Full Pacemaker twin 2 1/2inch Stainless Steel system. Custom CAI. Black XR interior with white trimming. Powerbond underdrive kit 25%.
13.65@102mph. 2800 hi-Stall.
230RWKW@5250 rpm. 625NM.

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:13 pm 
Fordmods Junkie

Ride: '03 BA & '06 BF Wagooons

VIC, Australia

Benny D wrote: