Fordmods Logo

XR BF series II convert from 4speed to ZF 6Speed Auto??? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: XR BF series II convert from 4speed to ZF 6Speed Auto???
Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 6:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: 15th May 2005

Location: Sunbury
VIC, Australia

Hi All,

Just wanted to know how difficult it would be to change the 4speed auto to the ZF 6speed auto for a XR BF series II. What changes electronically and mechanically? PNP? Ford ECU reprogramming? I would keep the original T-bar inside if possible.

Thanks!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR BF series II convert from 4speed to ZF 6Speed Auto???
Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:25 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

Im interested to find out also. They should bolt up fine, but im not sure on the length of the box you may need the drive shaft aswell. You would need the computer, wiring looms and shifter i imagine for it all to work. Another thing to take note of is the instrument cluster, it tells you what gear your in. It may not go up to 6 on the 4 speed models, might need to change that too.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR BF series II convert from 4speed to ZF 6Speed Auto???
Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1380

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FPV BF MKII F6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

im pretty sure this is not possible from what ive heard.... somthing about the compueter that controls it or something.

if all else fails just chuck in a T56

 

_________________

OBS35N is gooonnnneeee.
Gone for good..... Damn fence posts!!!!!

OBS35N #2 (XXF6XX) just bought, bring it on

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR BF series II convert from 4speed to ZF 6Speed Auto???
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: 15th May 2005

Location: Sunbury
VIC, Australia

Hey All,

A couple of weeks back in the factory I caught up with some of the guys from ZF Australia. The simple answer is no. From the explanation you would have to change the transmission plug, mountings, tail shaft, and change three different computers in the car including the engine management system (can't remember the rest), just to fit it in. Even if you did manage to have it connected and working, there is no guarantee that the change points when driving would be the same economy as a factory vehicle with six speed transmission option.

Like the previous suggestion, the easiest would to install a six speed manual transmission. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR BF series II convert from 4speed to ZF 6Speed Auto???
Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 873

Joined: 9th May 2005

Ride: BA XR6T

its been done in a BA from 4spd to 6spd auto, theres a thread over on fordxr6turbo.com, the blokes name is Ninka.

 

_________________

300+rwkw HeadsexTuned XR6 Turbo Ute *NOW SOLD :(*
MK Triton with 31" muddies, 2" lift and 3" turbo back exhaust etc...

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:58 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names