Fordmods Logo

Sherro's EL Fairmont 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: Sherro's EL Fairmont
Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:12 am 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: 98 EL Fairmont Ghia

ACT, Australia

Okay, so I thought I would write up here chronicling my experiences with my EL as I do it up. I have little to no knowledge of cars and I am pretty keen to write here about how I go about learning things as I slowly do it up.

Updates might be slow as I just moved out on the weekend and bought the car on the 12th so I'm pretty low on funding.

MY CAR:
(I will put pics up later tomorrow once I take some)

The car has been running smooth since I got it as it was looked after fairly well, never missed a service and hasn't been driven much in the past 6-8 months. When I got my roadworthy inspection the mechanic replaced the tie end bar on the front right as apparently this was stuffed.

Second day of driving it the top radiator hose popped off driving it to work in the last 10 seconds and seemed to have drained all my coolant. Filled it up with water to get myself home. Drained the water and filled it with coolant. Looking into it more I found the hose connector on the end tank was cracked where the clamp goes.

Last weekend I drove to Sydney and back easily enough, no problems until I got to Lake George on the way back and the CD stacker stopped completely and showed the message "7 Err". Manually removed the cassette with a needle and couldn't find anything wrong It seems like the stacker is unable to eject the cassette. Gave up looking around and settled that I will buy a new head unit when I can as I wont use the stacker much anyway.

Yesterday I took the day off work sick and was driving to the doctor, 3/4 of the way there the hose must of popped off again as I could see the temperature rising slowly and the check cooling light showed up. Drove it 30 more seconds as a mechanic was nearby. He replaced the radiator for me.