Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post subject: The Sleepy Grey XH Build Thread
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 11:23 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: xhII xr6

VIC, Australia

Hi all

The following is a build thread on a Ford Ute that I have been working on for the last 12 months. It’s a grey XH Series 1, with EF XR body-kit and a few other bits and pieces.

This will be my first build thread. In fact I have rarely, if ever, posted on a forum. I do feel that I have left it a bit late to begin writing a thread, and wish (as most authors that I have read do) that I took more pictures during the build process. I will endeavour to add to the thread every few days until I get up-to-date with how the Ute is progressing. I hope that you enjoy the read!

Chapter 1
My X Series Utes

I have always been a fan of X Series Utes and I have wanted one ever since early high school, when I first saw a green XH XR8. However while studying I could not afford/ it was not practical to get one.

This all changed when I left uni and started work. I saved up and dropped (yes this is a bit excessive) 10 grand on a red 1999 XH XR6. Not to go into too much detail this car wasn’t too crash hot. It had Redback extractors and a 2.5 inch exhaust system fitted, Koya rims and an awesome hard top.

I was never really happy with the red ute. While it seemed to have a bit more power than my mates, but had some rust/paint issues that quickly got worse. It also had many wiring issues and the loom had been chopped and rewired by multiple leckies. This left me out of my depth when it came to trouble shooting.

I really wanted something with a bit more go, so I looked into ways of making her a powerhouse!

Long story short I installed one of Snort Performance’s Sprintex charger kits with a lot of help from Snort himself. These kits are awesome, water cooled monsters that I reckon really set off the engine bay! Well, you make your own minds up: