Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Datalogger Setup 

 

Page 2 of 6 [ 78 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Does anyone have any issues with their logger not reading anything over 5000rpm?

Mine just gives weird constant figures and sometimes 0's.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1139

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

I had a few problems in the early days. It turned out to be sensor calibrations settings in the config being way off and overflowing or something odd. I still get odd RPMs readouts occasionally past ~5250 but I think it's just interference and I can work out the RPM from the VSS anyway.

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Doh. Did you modify any settings to get the rpm to work better or did you just leave it?

I tried hooking up the VSS today too and couldnt get a constant reading at a constant speed.

It seemed to vary way too much to work properly.

The rpm thing isnt that big of a deal I guess. Can only tune to 5000rpm in the software anyway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1139

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Yeah, I had to put more realistic figures in the transfers in WinLog. I think it went weird when the voltage went above what the max I had was, say I had 4.6v as 100% TPS then it lost it when it saw 4.7v, so you need to add another row for 5.0 = 100%.

To get VSS right you have to average it over 2-5 samples, have a play with that function as smoothed values make it a lot easier to tune. Some of the stuff in WinLog should be preset as it sucks without it. Are you using the dash I created?

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just checked. I was using a different dashboard. Would that make a difference to anything?

I noticed what you said with my TPS as well. Just hooked it up today and it went from 100% to 4.6 or whatever sometimes.

Ill have another play with it next weekend.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1139

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Dashboard is just display. I find my one easier to read :)

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cool, I thought so.

I cant watch mine and drive at the same time anyways. I usually make a change then use the display to see if it goes lean and if not connect the logger.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1139

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Yep, its much easier with two people. I get my brother to drive and I man the laptop.

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

That's the way to go.

While your here can you put figures of over 100 in the ve table? I've got a lean spot at low rpm that I can't seem to get rid of. : /

It's under 1500 so if I don't clutch it enough the car takes forever to speed up.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 8:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1139

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Nope. You need more than 100% VE under 1500rpm? Something else is wrong i'd say!

You can use the Stablised Open Loop fuel table to target lower than 14:1 at that range if you really need more fuel.

Get me on MSN if you like.

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

finnigan001 - thank you very much! I had been searching for confirmation that I was going to connect it to the correct wires.


Out of interest what source have others used for the units power and ground connection (I'm refering to the black twin wire that is seperate to the grey I/O loom)?


One other question I have though is in relation to the yellow wire:
# YELLOW
Vbatt - Provides battery voltage to remote 12 volt sensors or displays. - Is this an input or an output? i.e. do I have to connect it to 12v source in order for the unit to function, or is this an output from the unit providing 12v to something else?


And one last thing, I see mention about GM MAP sensor, can someone please explain what the purpose of this is? Is this a better unit than the factory sensors? Is there a particular model that is used for these? Are changes to the tune of the J3 Chip required in order to use it? Or is the GM MAP used just as a sensor for the 2J1 and not feeding any readings to the ECU?

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Last edited by twr7cx on Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1139

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

You need a voltage based map sensor for the logger, as well as a frequency one for the ECU.

The yellow wire is optional, and used to power other things.

Jason

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Last edited by galapogos01 on Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

You only use the GM sensor for logging.

The stock map sensor gives a frequency based signal which makes it hard to log.

I only wired up what finnigan said to and its working fine. Yellow 12v - pin 71 or any 12v out on ecu (pretty sure these are Red)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
The yellow wire must go to a source for the logger, its gotta get power somewhere!


But doesn't it get it's power from the black twin wire (that is seperate to the grey I/O loom)?

Because the description, "Provides battery voltage to remote 12 volt sensors or displays." makes it sound like an output providing voltage to remote sensors or displays...

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Datalogger Setup
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Dansedgli wrote:
You only use the GM sensor for logging.

The stock map sensor gives a frequency based signal which makes it hard to log.


Ok, so the standard MAP sensor feeds the signal to the ECU and is not logged.

The GM MAP feeds signal to the datalogging and not the ECU.

With the GM MAP wires, the Central PIN is the output, so this goes to the loggers Red or Brown wire (either of the User 1 or 2 wires). The other two do you just tap into the wiring to the factory MAP (the O-BK and BK-W wires) for +5 Volt and Ground?

Whats the price of the GM sensor and where have people been purchasing?

1 BAR is equal to approximately 15psi? So a 1 Bar MAP should be enough for my application.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 6  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names