Fordmods Logo

Fuel Level sensor. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 510

Joined: 4th May 2005

Ride: EL XR8 / GHIA / GT

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Hi all,
I think I've read about this problem before where the fuel level reading is not accurate.

Vehicle is an ELXR8.

Trip comp low warning beeping comes on at 110-120 DTE at times, instead of the standard 80 DTE.
Going to fill up at this point would only get approx 55 ltrs in, so it's got plently of fuel left, but the low warning is coming on way to early?
When filling up, the gauage goes well over the F, yet the low warning starts on the 1/4 mark or just under, not at the ornage section on the gauge.

Is there a fuel level sensor somewhewre on the tank?
Is it common for it to play up with age?
Is it worth replacing?
Where is it located.
Where can new sensors be obtained from?

Thank you.

 

_________________

EL II XR8
Pedders Sports Suspension
Pacemaker Exhaust system with Hi-Flow Cats
Tickford / GT Body Kit
Electric Sunroof / Moonroof
FR19 Simmons Wheels
Ghia / GT Interior

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:20 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

This link may shed some light on the subject: interior-modifications-f14/inacurate-ef-gli-fuel-gauge-t8249.html

I had my unit out of the tank not long ago and was surprised to see a conventional resistance type sender unit in the tank (gone are the capacitance probes of the X series cars). Float arm connects to the wiper arm (variable resistor) and changes resistance based on fuel level. To answer part of your question, the sender units can cause trouble if the wiper has worn away the resistance material itself. If the float arm was bent slightly, this would alter the amount of resistance you have for a given fuel level. An inaccurate fuel level and warning would result. Of cause do the diagnostics on the instrument panel and check for smooth gauge movement.

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:42 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

I have also seen in the past floats (other brands)which have small holes or splits in them. This causes the float arm to ride lower in the fuel than normal and cause inaccurate readings.

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Didnt your car have a tune and a sety of 24lbs fitted, if so the trip computer is now essentially useless to you
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

TerroristGHIA wrote:
Didnt your car have a tune and a sety of 24lbs fitted, if so the trip computer is now essentially useless to you
Brett

I have a tune, bigger injectors and some other work and my trip comp works as it should still. Why would you assume otherwise?

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 510

Joined: 4th May 2005

Ride: EL XR8 / GHIA / GT

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

TerroristGHIA wrote:
Didnt your car have a tune and a sety of 24lbs fitted, if so the trip computer is now essentially useless to you
Brett


Yes I did Brett, well the tune isn't complete, anyway I'm curious to know how the trip computer is now useless?
This issue I've brought up is regardless of what the engine can or can't do, it's just about poor fuel level accuracy.

 

_________________

EL II XR8
Pedders Sports Suspension
Pacemaker Exhaust system with Hi-Flow Cats
Tickford / GT Body Kit
Electric Sunroof / Moonroof
FR19 Simmons Wheels
Ghia / GT Interior

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1634

Joined: 8th Jul 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EL F100 CAPRI XR EF

Power: 234 rwkw

Location: brighton
SA, Australia

you havent had the dash cluster apart doing the led conversion?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fuel Level sensor.
Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:01 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

Quote:
When filling up, the gauage goes well over the F, yet the low warning starts on the 1/4 mark or just under, not at the ornage section on the gauge.


My NF Fairlane is the same. Warning normally on a just a bees d*ck under 1/4 tank. Haven't taken much notice of how much petrol it takes because I mainly run lpg.

Had a look at the wiring diagram. Only 2 wires for the sender unit (according to Max Ellery) with one of them being the ground. The output wire goes to the cluster computer so its a fairly simple system. I gather that the trip computer gets its data from the cluster computer for estimated distance to go and fuel usage. I think your best bet would be to remove the sender unit and check its resistance at different levels. You could simulate a full tank, 1/2 tank and empty and compare the resistance to the values snap0964 posted in my link above. You could source another sender from a wrecker and exchange to see if you have any difference.

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names