Fordmods Logo

J3 chip in NF lane 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: J3 chip in NF lane
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:27 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

I know this would have been asked before but with the j3 chip does it just piggy back to the ecu and no worries for gas, or do you need to add wires from the gas system to the chip itself?

I realise this may sound like a silly question.

Cheers

Josh

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:45 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

BUMP

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

You'll need to get a dump from someone who has a manual EF LPG Falcon/Fairmont.

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:17 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

One Drone wrote:
You'll need to get a dump from someone who has a manual EF LPG Falcon/Fairmont.


Realy i was under the impression that you can get them preconfigured aswell as programable?

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yes they are programable and if you can tune it to what you like.

But the question was whether a J3 chip will work or if you have to put wires or something to it and if it will work for gas.

Easiest way for you to achieve this for your stock motor is to find a dump of someone's ECU that is an EF Fairmont or Falcon which is also on gas with a T5.

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:36 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

I know the preconfigured chips work on any falcon you need to tell them what model, build date and and transmission the ecu is from originaly and the tell them what configuration you need such as manual tickford gas for ef. what i ment was if i buy a preconfigured one will it just plug in i dont know how they are fitted. or do they need some wires soldered in?

Cheers

Josh

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:28 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 212

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: BF Fairlane Ghia, BA XR8 Ute

Location: Dandenong
VIC, Australia

what do you want the J3 chip for, have you done any mods that would require one like a cam or Gas?

 

_________________

The Luxo Cruiser - 07 BF Fairlane
Silhouette,Pedders CoilOvers, Whiteline Adjustable Swaybars, BluePower Tune and Airbox, DiFillipo Headers and Cat with Catback, FPV Brake Upgrade, G6ET Wheels

The New daily/Toy - 2004 BA XR8 Ute
Mercury Silver, 5 Speed Manual, a factory Blownup Boss 260 :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

You dont need to have mods to have a use for the chip....

No you dont need to solder wires in...

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip in NF lane
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 9:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

didnt see this post here.

do you know whether your LPG system is a tickford factory one or an aftermarket one? this will derive what kind of binary you need (i.e. if you need a tickford one that can handle the LPG system).

there is no reason to fiddle with wiring either way, apart from unplugging it to clean the j3 port before you install the chip :)

cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip in NF lane
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:53 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
didnt see this post here.

do you know whether your LPG system is a tickford factory one or an aftermarket one? this will derive what kind of binary you need (i.e. if you need a tickford one that can handle the LPG system).

there is no reason to fiddle with wiring either way, apart from unplugging it to clean the j3 port before you install the chip :)

cheers,
Jason

Thanks for your reply,
My gas system is after market.
Where does the j3 chip plug in, this is the main reason for starting this thread.
Does it plug in one of those plugs where the fuse box is, or does it plug in close to the ecu?

No i have not done any engine mods KyleBardell, but like krisisdog said that is not a prerequisit for installing one.

cheers

Josh

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip in NF lane
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Ok. best thing to do is read the install guide on www.techcore.com.au/eec . it plugs into the bottom of your ecu.

jason
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip in NF lane
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

http://www.techcore.com.au/eec/Technical/Installing%20a%20J3%20Chip%20v1.0.pdf

My chip looks a bit different so I can take a pic if you wanted one.

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:22 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names