Fordmods Logo

Tuning your Falcon with a T.I. Performance J3 Chip 

 

Page 3 of 98 [ 1462 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 98  Next

 
Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3436

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

How cool would it be to get scannerpro http://scannerpro.net/

working with ECC V ECU's..

the EL dash can get the info.. why does that not mean it can work with scannerpro?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 38

Joined: 23rd Jan 2008

Location: bris
QLD, Australia

off the ecu off the ute
eec-iv
5dac
95da-12a650-ac
xh II 5 speed manual is what it's in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 5502

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Masier wrote:
snap0964 wrote:
Masier wrote:
Any ideas which map to start playing with for a xh ute?? I want to tweak it for LPG (it's a eec iv) will pull the computer out tomorrow to see what it is.
All XH's are EEC V.
Are you sure? I thought that the base model 6 had the eec-iv. How I can check for sure??
Don't believe the airbox cover. They all run thermo fans and have a knock sensor.

Masier wrote:
off the ecu off the ute
eec-iv
5dac
95da-12a650-ac
xh II 5 speed manual is what it's in.
It'll be EEC V. The EL Tickford LPG ECU has EEC IV on it's sticker, but again, it's EEC V.
I think it's because the true EEC V ECU's should have 104 pins (e.g. EF/EL V8's), where the XH and EL I6's have 60 pins.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 7th Mar 2008

Location: nanango
QLD, Australia

hey matey just wondering if you could help me out, are you able to retune the eb series one ecu, what ive done is jammed a ed engine with turbo running 10 pound boost into an 1965 falcon, or would it be better to go el ecu an get that retuned thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:28 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 290

Joined: 10th May 2006

Ride: 5 Spd EA Wagon, 5 spd EF Fairmon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Is there any reason this wont work with EEC-IV?? All the hardward on the moates site says EEC-IV/EEC-V??
Is there any reason i cant tune an EA ECU? Cheers
David

 

_________________

If you're not driving a manual, you are only steering...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 1:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

All Aussie EEC's up to the AU were EECIV, and the EECV's were actually 4 and a halves, 256 vs 56k bins.

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1137

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

A small update: i received my first sample of the locally built J3 chips and hope to test it this weekend. It can switch up to 8 tunes!

To answer the questions...

xpnutter wrote:
hey matey just wondering if you could help me out, are you able to retune the eb series one ecu, what ive done is jammed a ed engine with turbo running 10 pound boost into an 1965 falcon, or would it be better to go el ecu an get that retuned thanks


an EL ECU will do the trick. will be very easy to get it running.

DJ_Brown wrote:
Is there any reason this wont work with EEC-IV?? All the hardward on the moates site says EEC-IV/EEC-V??
Is there any reason i cant tune an EA ECU? Cheers
David


if you want to disassemble the binary of an EA ECU to produce a definition, the hardware and software will work. if not, plug in an EL ECU as suggested. they are cheap and it works already. why the stupid question? its already been answered!

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 5:55 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 290

Joined: 10th May 2006

Ride: 5 Spd EA Wagon, 5 spd EF Fairmon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cheers for the reply.
the only reason im not running an EL ECU in my EA is because it doesnt have smart-lock. Also, i have a manual EA, with an EB series 1 non-smartlock manual ECU.

David.

 

_________________

If you're not driving a manual, you are only steering...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3436

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I have an EL ECU running my ED motor with log manifold and it hunts a tiny bit at idle, but other than that it is better than the original for low end torque....

Once it's all ready, I'll be putting the blown EL motor in, BBM and all (though the bbm switch will be locked no doubt) and I'll be trying a modified Xr6 bin as detailed by Galapogos01 (who really should still make a tute for all the steps he took to fix his hunting problem including everything from plugging in the hardware to editing the table with lots of screenshots.. :-) )

DJ Brown, I didn't have smartlock either.. so I picked up a smartlock bypass for 80 bucks on ebay.. works a treat.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

problem is where would you start when sorting probs.

Here is your first step, plug in EMU, Ostrich, Pull dump, go to 0X 22000 and start from there, oh sorry true EEC-IV is 0X 2000, start building your def file.........6 months at least you have something that kinda resembles a GUI tuning tool.

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3436

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Jaysen,

I've already got the EL XR6 image from here:
http://www.techcore.com.au/eec/

And a def file also.. started by setting the scalars as I saw fit.. but the tables are a little more complex and I don't want to get it wrong. Since falcons run rich most of the time anyway and I've got a rising rate reg and Walbro GS342 pump.. I probably don't have to change much of anything..

will get the AFR checked when it's done and find out what tables need adjusting.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
A small update: i received my first sample of the locally built J3 chips and hope to test it this weekend. It can switch up to 8 tunes!



how does it work on the car??? how do u change between the tunes???

when will u have them for sale? and how much....will be really interested in buying one off u

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1137

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

frankieh wrote:
I probably don't have to change much of anything..

will get the AFR checked when it's done and find out what tables need adjusting.


correct.

we should stat a seperate thread for tuning, this one is about sharing the definitions and chips.

i imagine a programmed chip will be around $120.

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1137

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Thanks to Hybrid34, I now have an EL XR6 Manual bin file. This was probably the most requested of all. They fetch some pretty ridiculous prices!!! We can now turn any EL ecu into an EL XR6 Manual ecu for the cost of a J3 chip.

On the J3 chips themselves, my Australian supplier has sent me a sample unit. I am having a little trouble programming it as my hardware is from the US, but once we have this hiccup sorted out we will be able to offer locally built chips cheaper than the US sourced ones (which currently over $100 with shipping).

Cheers,
Jason

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1656

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

galapogos01 , nice write up , keep up the good work


cheers

 

_________________

FS [VIC]: WorkShop CleanOut - Assorted Parts Some New & Chassis Dyno http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/fs-workshop-cleanout-assorted-parts-some-new-chassis-dyno-t123623.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 98  [ 1462 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 98  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names