Fordmods Logo

Tuning your Falcon with a T.I. Performance J3 Chip 

 

Page 4 of 98 [ 1462 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 98  Next

 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3436

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
Thanks to Hybrid34, I now have an EL XR6 Manual bin file. This was probably the most requested of all. They fetch some pretty ridiculous prices!!! We can now turn any EL ecu into an EL XR6 Manual ecu for the cost of a J3 chip.

On the J3 chips themselves, my Australian supplier has sent me a sample unit. I am having a little trouble programming it as my hardware is from the US, but once we have this hiccup sorted out we will be able to offer locally built chips cheaper than the US sourced ones (which currently over $100 with shipping).

Cheers,
Jason


That's excellent.. I've been playing with the auto version, so will have to start again..

good stuff, let me know how you go with the J3.

rgds

frank
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1137

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

If you are planning on a custom edit, continue with the Auto. The HWAD3 definition is not suitable for the EL XR6 bin.

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3436

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ahhh...

I have the EL XR6 auto from your site.. it doesn't matter auto or not because I have it bypassed with resisters anyway...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1137

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Correct :)

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

gotta find the scalar that sets it to either auto or manual, in the V8 ones its down the bottom near the goose test stuff, is the EL 6 cyl goose test stuff at the end of the bin like this too?

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

ah just for the dumb asses out there could u explain what u mean by goose test..??

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

when you jump your diagnostics connector to get it in to diagnostics mode, there are a buch of parameters that obviously need to be outlined in the ECU. In the 5ltr ones there is stuff relating to cylinder balance testing, goose test AFR's RPM's steerig test TPS test ECT/ACT range testing ign advance (which is why you put it in to diag mode to set your timing)

Ive not yet tested it, but the difference between the 6DFC & 6DGC (EL XR8 manual vs NL Ghia auto) do a similar thing to the yankie stuff in that you have say 4 for an EAOD 2 for single switching manual ect

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Goose
Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 12:31 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 78

Joined: 20th Mar 2007

Ride: XC UTE

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

I think you will find that the "GOOSE" part of the test actually requires you to hit the throttle.

Have you actually done a diagnostic test on the 5L?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ill think that you will find that the goose test has more in it than your told about, and yes I have done a goose test.

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Goose
Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1656

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

XCMUZ wrote:
I think you will find that the "GOOSE" part of the test actually requires you to hit the throttle.

Have you actually done a diagnostic test on the 5L?


I would have to agree with XCMUZ , the very technical term the engineers use "LOL" is " GOOSE THE THROTTLE " , it is just a procedure one runs through when running a EEC-IV/V engine test - Key ON-Engine Running Test ( KOER ) for the "F" series , 5.0L SEFI and 4.0L MODELS ONLY in which the person applies the throttle very quickly to the full on position and releases the throttle immediately " Snapping the throttle open = GOOSE THE THROTTLE ".

Same as turning the steering wheel 180 degrees in each direction.

These procedures are just applying a load on the individually sensors and in these two examples , one is testing the TPS switch and the other the power steering pressure switch . It is just a sequence of events testing the EEC-4/5 system.

If there are any other tests results from " GOOSE THE THROTTLE " I would like know what they are as I'm only aware of the one I have mentioned.

Document Description - http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=52

There is plenty of reading information on the net , I actually use a old scan tool called OTC monitor 4000 to access the eec-4/5 and do some diagnostics.
http://zenseeker.net/4x4/EECIV.htm
http://www.troublecodes.net/Ford/
http://www.tomco-inc.com/Tech_Tips/ttt6.pdf
http://www.gt350mustang.com/eec.htm
http://www.therangerstation.com/tech_library/OBD_I.html
http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php?index=118

cheers

 

_________________

FS [VIC]: WorkShop CleanOut - Assorted Parts Some New & Chassis Dyno http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/fs-workshop-cleanout-assorted-parts-some-new-chassis-dyno-t123623.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 8:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 290

Joined: 10th May 2006

Ride: 5 Spd EA Wagon, 5 spd EF Fairmon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hello.
I'm having some issues..i cant seem to get the binaries off my ECU..
I loaded the flash 'n' burn software, hooked up the burn1, the F2E and the J3 adaptor to a spare ECU, plug it all upm and it finds the hardware, and i select EEC-V reader, and then 'read chip'. it says read to buffer successful. i then save buffer to file, but the files are only 1kb, and the tuner pro doesnt seem to like them...

What am i doing wrong????

Cheers
David.

 

_________________

If you're not driving a manual, you are only steering...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 8:28 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 290

Joined: 10th May 2006

Ride: 5 Spd EA Wagon, 5 spd EF Fairmon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ok, well, i've sorted the above issue, i overlooked the start/finish addresses.. Now i have the issue that all the Bin files i make dont look right.. i mean, all the slider bars are flat-out, like speed limiter, rev limit, etc, then i know this ECU has both...
I'm doing something wrong...lol

Cheers
David

 

_________________

If you're not driving a manual, you are only steering...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

What box code is your ECU and what definition file are you using? Chances are that your def file isnt calibrated correctly for your bin, and its reading FF's rather than what it should be.

Another thing to note, sometimes when you do an on the bench bin dump, it wont read correctly. When you did it, did you press the verify chip with buffer button? sometimes you need to power up the ECU, you can do it on the bench, but sometimes its just easier to to it in the car. If the bin is correct, on an EEC-IV you will have your box code and strategy near the end of the null 0x2000 data before bank 1 starts, and in the EEC-V (running EEC-IV strategies EF/EL) it will be at 0x19F06

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1137

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Yep, jaysen is right. You will need to do the read in a car, and the only bins supported are listed on the site.

As far as I have tested, you can run any 4*** bin in any 4*** ECU, and same goes for the 6*** -- aside from the LPG models, where the EL LPG models have an additional output driver for the LPG stepper which isnt in the standard ECU.

 

_________________

T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 290

Joined: 10th May 2006

Ride: 5 Spd EA Wagon, 5 spd EF Fairmon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks for the replies. My ECU is a 4DCG out of my '96 EF.. I was using the N4AGB-v7 def file.. i then tried a 6TBA EL XR6 ECU with the EL def on the site, and both were the same.. i'll have to try them powered.. do i do the bin read with the key in the 'on' pos, or 'off'???

Cheers
David.

 

_________________

If you're not driving a manual, you are only steering...

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 98  [ 1462 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 98  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 12:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names