Fordmods Logo

turbo on factory ecu 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: turbo on factory ecu
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:34 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 62

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Location: here
VIC, Australia

will using the capa e series edit allow the factory ecu to read boost
i was going to turbo my el and thought that the capa chip would be easier than aftermarket computer
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:18 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

Your ECU will already read boost upto about 9psi.

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

^^^ wrong...

The tune will be way off, and you will enentually kill your motor (wont take long)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:00 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=32182

He ran 9psi 220rwkw on a stock ECU

Having said that, it will be a LOT better for you to do some ECU tune or run an aftermarket one as you won't get very far using a stock ECU/tune but the point is that yes it is possible to run SMALL (upto 9psi) boost on a standard ECU provided you have a fuel regulator etc. (which come with a Snort turbo kit) depending on engine wear/age/condition/etc.

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the map sensor may be able to read the boost, but it has no idea what to do with it.

he was able to run that not because the map could see 9psi, but the rising rate regulator just pumped a s**t of fuel in so it didnt blow up.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 7:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 62

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Location: here
VIC, Australia

i meant would the standard computer be ok if i use that capa e series chip
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i would assume so.

give a tuner who sells them a call and ask them for a definate answer.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:32 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 62

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Location: here
VIC, Australia

i just thought that someone on here might know
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

It is possible with some EEC strategies to change the MAP sensor for one that can measure more boost (i.e. a 2 or 3 bar MAP sensor). This has been done a few times on BA and BF's for tuning turbo and supercharger conversions.

Not sure if this can be done on the earlier E-Series strategies? See if you can get in contact with a bloke called Headsex. He spends time on the XR6 Turbo forums, and the Australian Ford Forums, and has a little experience with this sort of tune...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 14

Joined: 11th Feb 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

According to capa the the eliminator chip will read boost not sure how much boost i didn't ask,
I'm in the middle of a turbo conversion on my xf (it has a ed xr6 motor ) so I don't know for sure yet but i'll find out soon
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:27 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I dont know why people spend so much money on their engine and then proceed to neglect engine management.

It's no acheivement to make your modified engine run on the factory ECU. You're simply robbing yourself of performance and risking damage to your engine.

Spend some money on a real after market ECU, or if money is tight, seriously conisder a Megasquirt.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names