Fordmods Logo

AU2 XR6 VCT in EB XR6 1992? 

 

Page 4 of 5 [ 71 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

make sure you have the temp sender and the air intake sensor connected

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:52 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Does AU Radiator header tank bottle fit in EB?

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I got it to fit in the EL...

have a look at www.trueblueford.com/shane_el.html

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:10 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Look okay.... thanks

The ECU EL did'nt work that good with AUII VCT.... got bit different timing

Im going to change ECU AUII VCT and rewiring by this long weekend if i got the wiring loom from wreck!

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

linesix wrote:
Look okay.... thanks

The ECU EL did'nt work that good with AUII VCT.... got bit different timing

Im going to change ECU AUII VCT and rewiring by this long weekend if i got the wiring loom from wreck!
Fair bit of work here as you need a smartshield BEM and barrel plus a visit to Ford to get it running if the those and the ECU are not a matched set . But I don't think you are on the right track. The EL ecu should have no problem running the motor even without VCT connected, you need to work out why its not running. If you are confident the igniition timing is correct then I would suspect a fuel problem, maybe the fuel lines are around the wrong way or the regulator is shot or even the pump has died or blocked filter.
Are you sure on the motor condition before you got it? Have the injectors been dry for a while, has the HG blown, are the plugs OK......

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:37 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi Twason, Im still keep checking on engines with wiring to EL ECU and i just make sure all the sensor work good.

ECU - EL (not tickford)
Engines - AUII VCT
Gearbox - EL 4 SPD AUTO (change EA T5 later)
Manifold - AUII

What manifold are you using twason?

I put ECU EBII XR6 for TEST and it seem same problem! drive no power.

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

linesix wrote:
Hi Twason, Im still keep checking on engines with wiring to EL ECU and i just make sure all the sensor work good.

ECU - EL (not tickford)
Engines - AUII VCT
Gearbox - EL 4 SPD AUTO (change EA T5 later)
Manifold - AUII

What manifold are you using twason?

I put ECU EBII XR6 for TEST and it seem same problem! drive no power.
I am using the AU lower and the EF upper, I have a BA upper to go when I was going to go to an AU ECU but that is now canned. Have you done a diagnostic on any of the ECU's to see where the problem lies?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:40 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yes i check ECU diagnostic, here the code

791 elec drive fan 1 output faulty
792 elec drive fan 2 output faulty
783 serial link output check fail
777 elec fan 1 not drawing current from battery when turned on by eec
778 elec fan 2 not drawing current from battery when turned on by eec

only 5 error in list, these fan i got from switch unit with adjust temp!

i think problem with manifold im using AUII... Tomorrow im going get EF/EL from wreck and try it to see how it does! coz no one use manifold AU with EL ECU.

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

linesix wrote:
Yes i check ECU diagnostic, here the code

791 elec drive fan 1 output faulty
792 elec drive fan 2 output faulty
783 serial link output check fail
777 elec fan 1 not drawing current from battery when turned on by eec
778 elec fan 2 not drawing current from battery when turned on by eec

only 5 error in list, these fan i got from switch unit with adjust temp!

i think problem with manifold im using AUII... Tomorrow im going get EF/EL from wreck and try it to see how it does! coz no one use manifold AU with EL ECU.
I don't see any problem with what you have done to retrofit the E series sensors and they are not reporting any problem, I think replacing the upper is not going to do much for you. Was that both the key on and the engine running tests by the way? I don't know what the 783 code is but it does come up a few times when EL ECU is retrofitted. http://www.fordmods.com/forums/el-ecu-u ... hlight=783 My book says an open circuit or short to B+.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I think Code: 783 is for a computer plug (e.g. serial port) for check up diagnostic or edit mapping im not sure!

Well i have'nt see what air temp sensor EL look like! i got EB it look big.

Tomorrow when i get air temp from el and i want to workout what the different between EB & EL!

Have you got any picture of "Map sensor EL" where the tube go to manifold! i was'nt sure if tube go under where the TPS or at back manifold?


Thanks for the web address.... interesting!

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

The IAT sensor shown in your picture looks the same unit as on my EF and I would assume EL. The E series map sensor hose goes in the outside of the upper manifold in the flat area under the throttle body but the vacuum would be the same directly opposite where the AU sensor was mounted and you have taped off. As I said I don't think you are on the right track here.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:46 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Finally found the problem, It the Distributor was not set properly.

What happen is When I put the Distributor on AUII and using the EL A/C which is not much room for the Distributor to adjust where it move. Bloody hard to remove it and turn then back on! They are pain in the A@#!

Very tricky when check the timing base was okay but the Distributor was not set right I don’t know why and i turn the Distributor (eg jump one gear and it went fine).

Went for a test drive (using Auto 4spd EL) it really much better but not that power I did say about 30% loss.

Im not happy with Distributor, im going get order Micro tech from QLD and install it with leave the old ECU EL and Use the Micro Tech wiring to engines only and I can use coil pack! And change the gearbox to T5 EL.

If things go well and will take to dyno tune and see how the result goes!

Check this Ide running with Distributor test (straight pipe) on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PctfmnHUpA


Will keep post

Cheers

Richard

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Richard,
Is this the MicroTech your referring to?:
http://microtechefi.com/
As they are in Thornton, just outside of Newcastle. I've used their ECUs to power VWs and a Toyota Landcruiser, which I converted to fuel injection before it was available in Australia.
I know it's not VCT [LOL] but I found them very helpful and the handcontroller and/or laptop options worked very well.
I only ask as you said "Qld" and as I thought their sales office had also moved to Newcastle you might want this link.
I have been following Twasons work with interest for a while and now yours, as one day I may do the same.
Cheers and good luck to you both,
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:30 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 218

Joined: 12th Jun 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

got au2 with distributor put dissy in as per normal this will keep the rotor in phase (pointing at) the correct area directly to the plug outlet of the cap set your base timing the same as an ed 10 degress advance because the el ecu has less internal advance than the au2 , au2 relies more on the knock sencor than the previous models

 

_________________

NC2 Fairlane AU2 Intech 4.0 Wolf V500 ECU Accel 500cc Injectors Eaton M90 Blower MPx Porting 75mm Mustang TB Intercooler Holley 255lph EL XR6 Rear End 3.45 LSD Duel Fuel lots more.
Long and Very Nice

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:00 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi Paulmac & xfpaul,

Thanks for the info and i was suprise did'nt know MicroTech in Thomton. I look up web site at http://www.microtech-efi.com/ they are in queensland! The price ain'nt cheap $1,095 (LT10S) :roll: (try to get dis)

But it worth than doing change all the wiring from AUII under the dash... too much headache lol!

anyway will start doing microtech and T5 in about 2 week!

thanks again

Cheers

Richard

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 5  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:10 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names