Fordmods Logo

BA engine into AU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 1

Joined: 3rd Jun 2009

Ride: xf ute

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi i want to put a BA motor into a au , apart from the ba ecu which i have . will i need the Ba engine loom ?, will the au t5 bellhousing fit the BA motor and will i need to use a Ba feelwheel for this swap
Thanks for your time and replies
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 686

Joined: 26th Jul 2009

Ride: EF daily, xc project

Location: Park Central
NSW, Australia

use the search function!!

 

_________________

ef falcon daily driver
78 xc falcon 500 project
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/bradley4567-s-xc-t83750.html

calling an illegal alien an 'undocumented immigrant' is like calling a drug dealer an 'unlicensed pharmacist'

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

How will you connect the BA engine to the BA ECU without the engine loom?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:45 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

bradley4567 wrote:
use the search function!!


Your a d**k, as you know there have been heads of questions asked bout B series to E series, but not much in the way of b to A series, I could confidently say the info does not exist via the search function. The answer is no. it will not plug and go. you will need to transfer the entire loom dash and engine bay side, and run the b series dash as well. There is retro fit stuff round for E series that I am aware of, for the most part it will be similar if not the same, but you will still run your au ecu.

I will corrected if wrong. but again, Bradley, your a d**k. Next time you ask a question, I'm gonna answer it the same way for you and see how you appreciate it. Pull your head in son. if your gonna tell him to search, at least provide a link to some relevant results.

The quatlity of tool has deminished lately.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

dc_todd wrote:
bradley4567 wrote:
use the search function!!


Your a d**k, as you know there have been heads of questions asked bout B series to E series, but not much in the way of b to A series, I could confidently say the info does not exist via the search function. The answer is no. it will not plug and go. you will need to transfer the entire loom dash and engine bay side, and run the b series dash as well. There is retro fit stuff round for E series that I am aware of, for the most part it will be similar if not the same, but you will still run your au ecu.

I will corrected if wrong. but again, Bradley, your a d**k. Next time you ask a question, I'm gonna answer it the same way for you and see how you appreciate it. Pull your head in son. if your gonna tell him to search, at least provide a link to some relevant results.

The quatlity of tool has deminished lately.


Search the Ferntree Gully area of the forums cause if memory serves me that they put an BA motor in a AU using the AU's VCT on the Barra

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 108

Joined: 20th Mar 2010

Ride: 2002 Au Ford Falcon Ute

Location: Morayfield
QLD, Australia

I've been searching this site up and down for info on BA into AU...... havent come up with anything really... most of the time it is just the question of BA into AU not any answers...

Search works but it is hard to find what you are after unless you specifically know what you are looking for....


Comes to another question, Is the retro fit worth the trouble? I'm not much in the knowledge of cars in general let alone fords, but how do the AU motors non VCT or VCT compare to the BA motors?


Phil.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 633

Joined: 21st Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Froudey wrote:
Search the Ferntree Gully area of the forums cause if memory serves me that they put an BA motor in a AU using the AU's VCT on the Barra


yer there's a thread somewhere where FTG did the swap, but it wasn't 100% if i remember correctly. to the op just give them a call.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:29 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

wtf... i replied with an informative post! :(

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

i find it joyful every time you post now disco frank :D the sig says it all.

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 12

Joined: 16th Feb 2010

Ride: 2002 au fairmont

Location: laurieton
NSW, Australia

next month ill tell you how easy/hard it is. buying a dohc this week off a mate who did a barra turbo conversion into a au ute.. it all bolts up fine and the t5 works as well as to be expected from the t5 but apparently the wireing is a b**ch, but his got his going perfectly and then some so its very do able.. the only thing im concerned about is the au auto as im sure the au is mechanical and the ba electronic and im not to sure how the ba ecu will like it or if i will have to run piggy back to get it all working. but only time will tell
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

ford-4l-and-6-cylinder-f1/ba-motor-into-a-au-t39655.html

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

This is the right link above post i stuffed up

ford-4l-and-6-cylinder-f1/ba-motor-into-a-au-t39655.html

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

matt-02fairmont wrote:
the only thing im concerned about is the au auto as im sure the au is mechanical and the ba electronic and im not to sure how the ba ecu will like it or if i will have to run piggy back to get it all working. but only time will tell


Both 4 speed auto's are elecronic.
But there are enough differences in them that the BA ECU won't be able to control the AU Auto without a bit of work.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA engine into AU
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 12

Joined: 16th Feb 2010

Ride: 2002 au fairmont

Location: laurieton
NSW, Australia

a bit of work never hurt anyone :wink: but thanks for clearing it up 4 me.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:51 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names