Fordmods Logo

cam for my set up??? 

 

Page 4 of 8 [ 108 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1775

Joined: 10th Jul 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BFII Turbo

Power: 253 rwkw

Location: Waurn Ponds
VIC, Australia

FordFairmont wrote:
Grimketel wrote:
not this f**k argument again.



look what i f**k quoted

what argument? Your wrong about how 4.11's affect gear ratios, so what? Take it on board !!!


what argument? everytime I say what I experienced with that ratio you come along try to disprove it. Either the ratios in our boxes are different or somethings a bit NQR. This isnt the first time, and probably wont be the last and its getting on my tits.

The fact is the 4.11s effect your E series differently to what they would effect my au, but you seem to wanna call "wrong" all the f**k time. Im glad you have videos, especially since the second one stops at about 95 clicks. How have you corrected your speedo? I used a gps device for all of mine, wheres you have vids of a cars speedo thats over 10 years old, of unknown (currently) calibration.

Fair enough You have your opinion but thats flat out calling me a liar saying "wrong". I s**t you not, they are the exact GPS figures of 3.89s in an AU. Can you take that on board?

 

_________________

enough isn't enough

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

paulos wrote:
nah down the track i will replace the engine but for now need it fast as can be, what sort of loss of drivability we talking bout?
whats decking the block?
my dads m8 got the lobes raise( actualy he got a diffrent crankshaft with higher lobes) and he went from 11.22 to a 11.17 at the quater that is a 308 tho so weather that makes a diffrence


decking the block is taking metal from the top of the block, wich will mean the pistons sit higher in the bore. but this can mess with the quench of the engine.
your dads mate most likely had a offset ground crank or a stroker crank.

if your going to rebuild it with n/a power in mind, just fit high compression pistons. decking the block and shaving the head are not always the right way to do it.

the more power you are after, the hard you have to rev it and usually the smaller the power band becomes. so in order to get into the meat of the power curve you will need to rev the car higher.
for an auto car, this means you need a bigger hi stall

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:13 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

thanks for the info
il talk it up with him, altho my tunner just keeps sugesting get a bf xr6t engine instead of working mine further

is there a stroker kit or of set crank for the I6?

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

You already have 149rwkw, the simplest way to make a power gain is to super charge it.
You can happily run low boost on a stock bottom end and get 190-200 odd rwkw.
Then if you want more, you can rebuild the motor and raise the boost.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Grimketel wrote:
FordFairmont wrote:
Grimketel wrote:
not this f**k argument again.



look what i f**k quoted

what argument? Your wrong about how 4.11's affect gear ratios, so what? Take it on board !!!


what argument? everytime I say what I experienced with that ratio you come along try to disprove it. Either the ratios in our boxes are different or somethings a bit NQR. This isnt the first time, and probably wont be the last and its getting on my tits.

The fact is the 4.11s effect your E series differently to what they would effect my au, but you seem to wanna call "wrong" all the f**k time. Im glad you have videos, especially since the second one stops at about 95 clicks. How have you corrected your speedo? I used a gps device for all of mine, wheres you have vids of a cars speedo thats over 10 years old, of unknown (currently) calibration.

Fair enough You have your opinion but thats flat out calling me a liar saying "wrong". I s**t you not, they are the exact GPS figures of 3.89s in an AU. Can you take that on board?


this is s**t. this is why i cant stand these god damn forums. i correct you every time you mention that theres supposedly 20billion gearchanges before 100kph if you run 4.11's, so i correct you because your wrong, not to "get on your tits" but to give you some info, yet you have a f**k whinge instead and rave on that YOU STILL KNOW BETTER EVEN THOUGH YOU DONT RUN 4.11'S but that your right because a f**k GPS and and some made up calculations told you so

run the figures through any diff/gear/rpm ratio calculator then see for yourself. Hey maybe Mal Wood installed some 2.77's in my diff hey, maybe i have no f**k idea what im talking about, maybe i should just rip the speedo corrector outta my dash and run a GPS instead....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:24 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

my tunner will only fit something that is completly reliable and reliablity costs lots atleast 5 grand to turbo or super charge so, im keeping it n/a

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Wouldnt bother looking at supercharging it if you're after bulk power, a turbo setup on these motors is miles ahead.

Ask how much a BF XR6T motor installed and running in your car is worth!!

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

I know who your tuner is.
How much do you think another 20rwkw will cost n/a?
And I know he is pushing the BA XR6t option to a few people.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:48 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

well end of the year il be taking that option of the xr6t engine
but for now i would say getting this head work done will put me at say 165rwkw whihc is 1300bucks so mabye another 700 to get it another 5rwkw ( altho i will just change diff gears which will say the rwkw is lower but i will have better acceleration)

il deffs be doing the msd 6al ignition kit hopefully some added power there

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just make sure it is registered and legal with that engine before paying him.
Also start considering what the cost is of upgrading your brakes to match the power.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:57 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

well if you know him , you will know he only does everything that is legal nothing iligal not even pod filters he just cuts a hole in the air box, so its all ligit

btw do you know if the drags are open yet since there not supposed to for another half year but i saw a holden with the white marker on the side ( like at the drags)

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Would be markings from a track day, most probably at Malala.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:18 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

thought so, do you know iff billet cams are still drivable and what price and i looking at here for wade cams or billet since i cant find the prices

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Well, a billet cam means its ground from a new piece of metal, so it doesnt need shims or the like as regrinds do.
The grind on the cam can be from stock to insane, its just that there is a limit on how far a regrind can be taken, hence the need for a blank cam.
IF you can get a billet, Wade are about 400 I think...

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

a billet cam just means its not a regrind, so wont need 2 shims in the rocker arm.
but usually people only run billets when using a larger cam profile.
so its not the cam itself, rather just the profile that determines how 'driveable' the car is.
its all a trade off man.
i still think your throwing all these figures around far too much.
if your tuner has suggested fitting a later model engine he might have a good idea.
a standard BA engine with extractors will get close to or maybe more power than what you are getting now...

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 8  [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names