Fordmods Logo

EF CLIMATE CONTROL 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF CLIMATE CONTROL
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:25 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 79

Joined: 28th May 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: melbourne/ brunswick
VIC, Australia

I am not getting enough heat from the heater during the cold nights. I have the setting on max (32 ). The temp on the cluster is low.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

How low is your temp? as in not even in the normal zona at all?

This is probably why you don't have much heat. Your thermostat could be jammed open. Maybe check that.

Andrew.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

In the tech doco section is a diagnostic page for the climate control. You could have a faulty blend door motor.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

or a corroded heater tap,

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:57 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 78

Joined: 6th Apr 2008

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

How long since you changed your coolant?

If your heater hoses are gunked up hot liquid won't reach the heater core.

 

_________________

He was like a god walking amongst mere mortals. He had a voice that could
make a wolverine purr, and suits so fine
they made Sinatra look like a hobo.
In other words, Ron Burgundy was the balls.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

my heater tends to stop working very well when the thermostat sticks open part way.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: climate control
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:40 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 79

Joined: 28th May 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: melbourne/ brunswick
VIC, Australia

thanks will check out all your advice
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

to put the climate control in diagnostics mode, hold down "OFF" and "MODE" and turn the car to "ON". it should click and make noises for a few seconds, then reset to 22c. i did this in my EL when it wasnt giving any heat at all, and it fixed the problem. now the air that comes out on 32 is almost too hot :P

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 309

Joined: 19th Mar 2008

Ride: Holden WK Statesman

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Mine would not put out any heat then i found this info on another site, now it works like new


Press mode and off together on the climate control, and it should do a diagnostics check. If it has any errors, it will flash them up on the screen. Here is what they mean.

E1 Electronic Control Unit
E2 Blend Door Servo Motor
E3 Cabin Sensor
E4 Solar Sensor
E5 Ambient Sensor
E6 Evaporator Temperature Sensor
E7 Engine Temperature sensor
E8 (EF/EL/AU Only) - EEC V Communication Line Fault

Also, heater taps corrode, so that may be the issue. Also, how warm does the car run, because if it's running too cold, due to a jammed thermostat, the heater won't work

 

_________________

The People's Dog

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 3804

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Slightly different question - Where does the AMBIENT TEMPERATURE SENSOR sit in the bumper area? I found the cables going where it used to be on my Fairmont Wagon, and have now bought this Fairmont sedan. I am putting the climate control into the Futura Wagon but need to find that sensor and wire it up. I looked in the sedan where the wires from the wagon suggested to look, and ... NOTHING, NUDDA, ZILCHO...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:55 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Sits in the center of the bumper (above the meshing)

Wires are located on the horn Loom, (they'll only be there if the car has ABS)

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 3804

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Krytox wrote:
Sits in the center of the bumper (above the meshing)

Wires are located on the horn Loom, (they'll only be there if the car has ABS)


Ahah.... I have no meshing, but can guess where you mean... I think my old Fairmont has had a re-wire of that area. There were wires going down drivers side of car rigged up to the climate control. Hmmph, will have another look in the weekend. Thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 29

Joined: 18th Jul 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I just had this exact issue.

I would change the thermistat, I did this with mine last night and walla, I now have a heater.

4LTRsix
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: climate control
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:38 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 79

Joined: 28th May 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: melbourne/ brunswick
VIC, Australia

yes the car is running cold during the nites. the temp needle struggles to go above the first line. I will change the thermostat and keep you informed. thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: heater
Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:27 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 79

Joined: 28th May 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: melbourne/ brunswick
VIC, Australia

Yes I changed the thermostat and that did the job. My heater now produces hot air at last. Bursons advised me to try a thermostat suited for an XH model.
one Question, what happens in summer, will my car overheat?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names