Fordmods Logo

ef ecu injector pin outs 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 54 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:28 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

not for multipoint from memory, the fuel pumps should be the same. I've tried a CPI fuel pump in mine before, it run... really s**t, but it ran.

Have you tried running the error codes off the ECU?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:32 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

i've tried to but nothing comes out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:35 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So you can hear the fuel pump prime when you put it on reds(ignition)?
its not just flooded or something?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:42 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

yep i can hear the fuel pump prime and the spark plugs are dry after i try and start the engine
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:45 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

hmm.. and your getting spark?

Have you got a scope?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:46 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Did we confirm the CAS is in place and working?

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:48 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Well, if he has the whole engine loom, and everything is plugged in, Im assuming yes..

Thats also why I asked if he has spark, no CAS no spark.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:51 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

i checked the spark with a spare spark plug and all leads were firing. i know the crank angle sensor is there and plugged in but i havent tested it, i will today.
also could the coolant temp sensor have anything to do with it cause the light is flashing on the dash all the time
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:53 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

light is flashing??? its not meant to flash lol.

What dash have you got? The coolant sensor on the EF/ELs is done through DOL for the dash (data output link, pin43 from memory).

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:57 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

i got the fairmont ghia instrument cluster
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:57 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

davoeabodykit wrote:
i got the fairmont ghia instrument cluster
sorry from ef
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:00 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

well, the only thing it uses coolant sensor for, ECU wise, is for cold starts, where it would dump in more petrol anyway.

Id check continuity with pins 99,100,101 to the injectors 2,4,6 (from memory.. could be 1,3,5).

Are you getting a tacho reading?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:06 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

ok i will check them them today and i dont know about the tacho reading i will check that too.
thanks for your help and i will post any results i get later on today
thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:16 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
Is this the first attempt to start this engine after the conversion, or have you had it running before ???

davoeabodykit wrote:
Yes its the first attempt, i havent had it running..
Not really much useful info I suppose - just thought there was something not plugged in, etc, but you would've checked these things many times by now. Also going from a 3.9 MPFI to 4.0 EF MPFI would've involved changing all the dash and engine looms - certainly bit more work than going to a 4.0 EL MPFI setup.

davoeabodykit wrote:
also could the coolant temp sensor have anything to do with it cause the light is flashing on the dash all the time
Probably you don't have the engine side wiring fitted (GLI without ABS wiring loom maybe)and/or the sensor isn't fitted to the overflow tank.
This won't affect whether the engine starts or not. Tackle this later - you have bigger fish to fry.

Easiest way to see if the Injectors are getting power is to disconnect one of the injector plugs and connect a 12v test lamp to it. Crank the engine and see if you get a pulse. Do this with the other 5. The ECU will shut down individual injectors if their respective plug isn't firing, but you'd think you'd still get a kick or two from the engine, and you have said IIRC that you're getting spark from each plug lead.
With IGN on, check you're getting 12v to each injector plug if you're not getting a pulse as above.

For the CAS - disconnect ECU plug and resistance measure between pins 21 & 22, should be 300 - 400 ohms. Reconnect the ECU plug and measure voltage between each of those 2 pins and earth - should be 1.0-2.0 v. Since you're not getting code 211 I'd say it's probably fine.

Probably wouldn't hurt to give the CAS a good clean, as they do get crap buildup, which can affect the system.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 409

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Look at that RICE!!
SA, Australia

Make 200% sure that you have connected the fuel lines the right way. If you connect the return line to the feed line and vice verse, well, she wont run at all. make DOUBLY sure they are the right way arround.

 

_________________

Soo many idiots. So few bullets

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names