Fordmods Logo

ef running rough 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ef running rough
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 12:17 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 14th Aug 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi, wondering if someone has any ideas?
EF Futura 6 cyl. Whilst driving developed a miss. Discovered no spark on 6. Leads O.K. plugs O.K.
Replaced coil pack (easy to access - not) now have spark on all 6, no missing whilst driving but idles terrible.
Any ideas appreciated.
Thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:23 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi,

Is there a miss at idle, or is it just idling low?

Have you reset the error codes in the ECU after replacing the coil pack?

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 14th Aug 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

There is a bad miss at idle. If i disconnect plug leads one at a time whilst idling, on 1 to 5 engine miss increases. When i disconnect plug lead on 6, no noticeble difference. Possible dirty injector?

No i have not reset ECU, worth trying?

Thanks again.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:28 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 16th Jun 2005

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

first thing I'd do is make sure you haven't got a lead around the wrong way :P I've done it b4 and u get a miss.

next try disconnecting No.6 injector, the idle should drop. if it doesn't try a new injector.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

how do you reset the ecu?

also how do you find the fault codes as i do not own the beeper box that plugs into the computer!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Davehimself wrote:
how do you reset the ecu?

also how do you find the fault codes as i do not own the beeper box that plugs into the computer!


to reset the ecu just disconnect the battery for 1/2 an hour. Alot of people will tell you otherwise but this will do the trick.

As for checking the error codes of the ecu check out the technical documents, insturctions are in there.

Goodluck mate.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names