Fordmods Logo

Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ? 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 58 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:59 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 27

Joined: 27th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 13.41 @ 102mph

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

G'day i havn't been very active on here lately sorry about that , i bought a FG n/a plastic manifold complete with all wiring loom /injectors TB etc.. how easy and what are the pitfalls of doing this ?

Already i can see the TB is 68mm compared to my 75mm SS one and the TPS has more wires than my B-series one... i'm just not sure what to cut and shut or whether to just plug the FG loom into my BA ecu and erase the fault codes from the sensors not required??

Help please from the guys who may have done this , pics are very usefull :roll:

Image

Image

Image

 

_________________

i am a banned wanker!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 182

Joined: 9th Jan 2011

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 2004 ba xr6 turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

is there a reason for putting the fg manifold on? y not a ba one??, seems completely pointless to me, seeing as though that manifold is made of that composite material instead of the cast metal the ba one is.... and is probably gonna be more of a night mare than you would wanna put yourself through... NOT UNLESS of course there is a reason for replacing the ba one with an fg one???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:37 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 355

Joined: 26th Dec 2008

Ride: BA XLS Ute

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

ford-4l-and-6-cylinder-f1/fg-intake-onto-ba-f-t117276.html

Not sure if he actually finished it or not.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 27

Joined: 27th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 13.41 @ 102mph

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Cheers mate ^^^ i have 2 friends on Bookface who have done this and i have asked them for more pics of the wiring changes so i can fit this tomorrow...

@lolhsv why am i fitting it ?

Because i can!

 

_________________

i am a banned wanker!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:08 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 355

Joined: 26th Dec 2008

Ride: BA XLS Ute

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

I'm keen to see results. Wouldn't mind doing it myself.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:19 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

I think Daz will have some issues getting info off of AFF Paul......................................................

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:29 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

EVL098 wrote:
I think Daz will have some issues getting info off of AFF Paul......................................................


Has he been a bad boy? :D

I didn't need to log in to get access to that thread
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:27 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 27

Joined: 27th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 13.41 @ 102mph

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Much appreciated mate :D

Tray is one of my mates on facebook he used an adapter to mount the BA TB i have the whole wiring loom from an FG so i'm hoping to initially use the std FG TB ... but i change my mind quite regularly lol

 

_________________

i am a banned wanker!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:00 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 27

Joined: 27th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 13.41 @ 102mph

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Jacob is playing with one now as well

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread ... 27&page=12

I have fg heater/thermostat pipe / all manifold bolts/and complete wiring loom so this should be a simple swap ??

Coincidentally that is my Growler in the pic and its back in my car now so at least i know the pipework bolts straight up lol

Image

 

_________________

i am a banned wanker!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 182

Joined: 9th Jan 2011

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 2004 ba xr6 turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

:shock: LOL fair enough then haha
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

BA and FG have different ECUs and wiring, You will not be able to plug the FG wiring into the BA ECU.

That's the reason the other people have adapted the BA throttle body on to the FG manifold.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:07 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 27

Joined: 27th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 13.41 @ 102mph

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Well i better give up now then ^^^ eh ?

Hang on let's try something and share the info ??

For anyone interested this is what is required to adapt the BA TB wiring with 2 x senders to using a FG TB with one sender off the BA ecu...

Image

A BIG thanks to Bryan England for explaining it all to me on Facebook how to make this work ...

Image

 

_________________

i am a banned wanker!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:54 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 27

Joined: 27th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 13.41 @ 102mph

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Ooops someone thought that was my engine bay ^^^ sorry but i havn't put the manifold on yet .

And yes i have run a 13.4 N/A with 19" wheels,search youtube or Elite automotive for the video's cheers !

Image

Image

 

_________________

i am a banned wanker!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting FG n/a manifold to B-series what's required please ?
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

dazzler351 wrote:
Well i better give up now then ^^^ eh ?

Hang on let's try something and share the info ??

For anyone interested this is what is required to adapt the BA TB wiring with 2 x senders to using a FG TB with one sender off the BA ecu...

Image

A BIG thanks to Bryan England for explaining it all to me on Facebook how to make this work ...

Image


Still stands, you can't plug the FG (or a BF) wiring harness into a BA ECU.

If you can adapt the FG TB plug to the BA harness and have it work, that's great.

I never said give up on it and I never said don't try anything.
No need to be a f**k about it.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:45 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names