Fordmods Logo

gutless renov8? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: gutless renov8?
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

hey guys,

renov8 is getting dyno'd wednesday, because altho getting a port and polish on an xr head, and a crescent stage 3 cam, and 4.11 diff gears, my car feels gutless. have tried a -1.5^ cam time, a 0^, then a -2^ and seems to make no diff to power. frustrating as all hell when you consider i've spent 3K so far after head blew a month ago. :x

anyone in adelaide running a quick 'e' so i can compare the feel of mine?

any other suggestions poeples? any advice would be appreciated

ta scott

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Geez with those mods should almost dip into the 14's
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1209

Joined: 28th May 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: slammed EL

Power: 120 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

wow thats pretty dam weird mate.
what exhaust system do you have?

 

_________________

Ford Motor Company
FoMoCo

Holden Motor Company
HoMoCo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Freak6 wrote:
wow thats pretty dam weird mate.
what exhaust system do you have?


paceys (not saloon) with big cat and 2.5 all the way thru

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1209

Joined: 28th May 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: slammed EL

Power: 120 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

induction?

 

_________________

Ford Motor Company
FoMoCo

Holden Motor Company
HoMoCo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

FordFairmont wrote:
Geez with those mods should almost dip into the 14's




almost dip 14's?????

it should run a very convincing 14. stock heads with mild cams dip 14's



What MPH do you rin at the strip?

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

tickford_6 wrote:
FordFairmont wrote:
Geez with those mods should almost dip into the 14's




almost dip 14's?????

it should run a very convincing 14. stock heads with mild cams dip 14's



Well why the hell did i convert to a manual lol........ theyre supposed to be faster in the falcons?!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

maybe throttle body issues???

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

induction is BIG cold air from straight out bottom of airbox to road with ram opening, , k & n and 3" mandrel from air box to throttle body.

i reckon it's WAY too rich down low. i was driving with my mate chris (wagondriver) tonight and he said when i dumped it he couldnt see through the black smoke. anyone know how to modify/ custom tune for better afr's?

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 423

Joined: 17th May 2007

Burning oil and it has sweet FA comp?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

sorry, not oil- raw fuel. getting comp checked tomoro.

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

with the cms stg3 cam you need a sh*t load of timing,and because yours is a ef you can't advance the timing unless you go for a piggyback or chip.

that's the only reason why i havn't put the stg3 in yet because of the timing and why i went for the stg2.soon as i put a edit in i'll being putting in the stg3.

so you'll find your afr will being sitting around the 11 mark which is why she's running rich so once you do an edit on yours you can bump the timing up and clean the fuel up and she'll run sweet!

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 9:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

thanks green machine. i have a chiptorque chip from the stock motor. could that be re-written?

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

not sure if the chip-torque can be re-written or not but i do know that fast xr but a chip-torque in his and his car ran like a dog because it still needed more timing so out it went,but his is an el and has a dizzy so he's able to bump his timing up thats why his stg3 cam runs so well!!

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: cms stg3
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 7:55 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 1

Joined: 24th Jun 2007

Ride: 96 ef ford fairmont

Location: holsworthy
NSW, Australia

hey i purchased a stage 3 cam from crescent motorsport bout a month ago and made a dramatic difference.
its in a ef fairmont, stage 2 headwork,exhaust etc. and got at least 15 more rwkw.
it drives better with a lot more mid range to top end.
can only guess that in yours its a timing problem.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:18 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names