Fordmods Logo

My AU Engine conversion... Ok Yes its a VCT.... 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Sat May 24, 2008 10:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Way to go Nigel.

I hope it starts up for you. Good Luck.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Well Guys - I got it together - All lined up nice, connected everything, then tried to start it... and nothing.

Grrr.. looked around - and only thing of note was a little click on the throttle body at full throttle. I managed to get it started, but only at full throttle and it was blowing LOTS of smoke and not reving.

Of course, the click was the answer. The Engine had a cover on the throttle body to stop crap getting in it... and I completely forgot about it when I put the rest of the intake ducting on it (I was working from the passenger side).

2 seconds work, removed it, and started the car. YAY!.

It idles a little rough - I think the engine (wasnt high kms..) was converted to LPG and hadnt been run on Fuel much. Im throwing the EF Injectors tomorrow.

It goes pretty alright though - and the response from 4000 -> 5800 is bloody fantastic.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Some Pics (more to come tomorrow)...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 6:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

More
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 187

Joined: 30th Dec 2006

Ride: 95 EF I

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

glad u got it started and all runs well, nice photos too :D

great job :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Nigel wrote:
Well Guys - I got it together - All lined up nice, connected everything, then tried to start it... and nothing.

Grrr.. looked around - and only thing of note was a little click on the throttle body at full throttle. I managed to get it started, but only at full throttle and it was blowing LOTS of smoke and not reving.

Of course, the click was the answer. The Engine had a cover on the throttle body to stop crap getting in it... and I completely forgot about it when I put the rest of the intake ducting on it (I was working from the passenger side).

2 seconds work, removed it, and started the car. YAY!.

It idles a little rough - I think the engine (wasnt high kms..) was converted to LPG and hadnt been run on Fuel much. Im throwing the EF Injectors tomorrow.

It goes pretty alright though - and the response from 4000 -> 5800 is bloody fantastic.
Welcome to the E series VCT club.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

heheheh.. Ahh yes VCT.

Your AU Guide was awesome.

I cut about an extra 5-10mm further in at the top. used a hacksaw for the sides, a jigsaw for the top, and a Drill powered nibbler for the bottom. An Angle Grinder to clean up, and then got a peice of steel welded in.

Very very happy with the result, and I have about a CM of clearance all around (photos tomorrow).

Hadnt told many that it was a VCT :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Nigel wrote:
heheheh.. Ahh yes VCT.

Your AU Guide was awesome.

I cut about an extra 5-10mm further in at the top. used a hacksaw for the sides, a jigsaw for the top, and a Drill powered nibbler for the bottom. An Angle Grinder to clean up, and then got a peice of steel welded in.

Very very happy with the result, and I have about a CM of clearance all around (photos tomorrow).

Hadnt told many that it was a VCT :)
Sorry the cats out of the bag now :D

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Bloody Good Job Nigel.

No excuses now. I expect to see you soon one Friday Night at KKs Liverpool.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I'll think of something... LOL. Still need to get the GAS Sorted
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 9:55 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 187

Joined: 30th Dec 2006

Ride: 95 EF I

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

VCT? did u switch it with the BBM signal?

or is half a slab too much and i cant think right now lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 10:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ive used the BBM Signal, with a Normally Closed Circuit on a relay. So it turns OFF when the car gets to 3800 (or thats the way it will work tomorrow)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 10:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 187

Joined: 30th Dec 2006

Ride: 95 EF I

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sweet, sounds like i could do this drunk lol

good job getting it working :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 11:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Did you fit the AU alternator, and sort the wiring out with it ?
If you did, what did you do ?

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 9:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I did use the AU Alternator. It was actually easy : the 3 pin plug only had 2 wires going to it!. Soldered the newer connector on and away we go.

I do suspect I should upgrade the cable to the Fuse/Fuse and cable to the battery now for higher current, but that will come.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FordFan86, lucasj95 and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names