Fordmods Logo

Provisions For Knock Sensor 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Provisions For Knock Sensor
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 10:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i doubt this but is it possible to hook up a knowck sensor on an ED engine block. Has any body done this or know anyone who can do???


Cheers

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 916

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

I dont know much about the ED's, but the EF onwards had a knock sensor.

 

_________________

5 Speed EL Futura
Stock as a rock*
Image
A1 Oils - Synthetic lubricants: www.a1oils.com.au
* A rock that has been Alted

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

i guess its possible but it would probably involve drilling a hole in the block, probably not worth is
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Provisions For Knock Sensor
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 11:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

nannas_ed wrote:
i doubt this but is it possible to hook up a knowck sensor on an ED engine block. Has any body done this or know anyone who can do???


Cheers

why do you want the knock sensor for mate?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 11:17 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

There are no 'bolt-on' provisions until EF. You would need to drill and tap the block to use the OEM knock sensor. I do believe there are some aftermarket varieties which are attached to the outside of the block - ie, not drilled/tapped/screwed in. Look at some of Bosch's offerings.

Cheers

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Check the block. I have a late ED block here and its got the hole tapped for a knock sensor.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Knock sensor
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

You can use an AU knock sensor. They have one that screws on to a bolt so you can screw it on to a manifold bolt

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 912

Joined: 22nd Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: FNQ
QLD, Australia

The AU bolt thru sensor is probably the go.

I have an EL Knock Sensor on my ED which is wired to the EL XR6 ECU. In my case my engine has a threaded hole in the side of the block roughly below the coil - so I just recut the thread on the Knock Sensor to fit that hole. I suspect the sensor should be higher up on the block but it seems to work ok - that threaded hole could be a good spot to put a bolt thru AU Sensor too.

 

_________________

96 EF Auto GLi - Bilstein Shocks - Adjustable Front sway bar - JMM Cam - TI Perf J3 - TCI 2500/3000 stall converter. 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 7:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

I had trouble using the AU knock sensor on my EF ECU, I had to adapt the EF one to suit the AU bolt through mounting.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I've done it, fitted it to the EB motor i put in my EF.

There is a chunk of casting basically where the EF sensor goes (Or right near it), i just drilled and tapped it.

I haven't got the car anymore so i can't take a pic for you, but it wasn't hard.
I also had to drill and tap for the cam angle sensor as the dizzy bolts up on the opposite side to a cam angle.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names