Fordmods Logo

replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey guys, i think thats what its called, anyway ive had coolant dropping on it and apparently thats whats causing my car to not run right at all (not drivable)

Image

Image

those two photos' show that part im talking about. Anyway is it just a case of removing the cable connection and the two bolts on the top and swapping it with the new part or do i have to have the motor in a certain position.?


also would coolant getting inside it and corroding the terminal cause the car to have electronic misfires, extremely rough idle and blowing smoke out of the exhaust?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

So who told you thats whats making your car run poorly?

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

those photo's arent of mine..mines fully contaminated with cooland and coroded the wiring..so can a faulty cam angle sensor cause my symptoms? and is it at easy as removing the old on and replacing it straight back in?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

When you get a new one, swap the gear from your old one to the new one. Gear will then match the auxillary gear. Fitting the new one is much like fitting a new dizzy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ok ill see how i go, hopefully i don't have to remove the inlet manifold to do the job.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

If I can get the bloody dizzy out of the EL Wagon you will have no trouble with the cam sensor. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:45 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

These little gems might help. If the plug is corroded, get another from a donor car and solder the wires. Heatshrink each wire and them wrap the whole wiring loom in tape. For the locating pin I used a 4mm drill bit which was shortened to miss the front of the engine (any 4mm dowl will do. Just remember to remove it when finished).

 

 

Attachments:
Synchroniser.jpg
Synchroniser.jpg [ 27.71 KiB | Viewed 60 times ]
Synchroniser procedure.jpg
Synchroniser procedure.jpg [ 31.4 KiB | Viewed 46 times ]

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing syncronizer? (cam angle sensor)
Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

well i just installed just the top of the cas (the plastic part that bolts on) and replaced the plug and wiring (wasn't even coroded) and now she wont run at all? Will try some more things on thursday night, f**k
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names