Fordmods Logo

rough idle 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

Post subject: rough idle
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:16 pm 
Smokin em up

Ride: XC GXL

QLD, Australia

firstly let me just say hi to every one.its my first time posting and you giys seem to know alot about fords. i just brought a na fairlane for my first car(im 15) and finally got it started but there is a rough running at idle and my dad said it is probly the lash ajusters/hydrolic lifters. having just pulled the rocker cover of thet is only a slight tapp evry 10 ish seconds at idle and it seems to be coughing on one of the cylinders could it be valves or camming? not very sure how to get ajusters out or if theres a easy was to find if there worn or just dirty. any help greatly appreciated.

cheers

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways

VIC, Australia

Try all the usuals first before you go mucking around with cams.

Worn out plugs and leads and dirty air filter can all cause a rough idle. I know you probably don't have heaps of money lying arouns given your age, but if anything like that needs replacing, get the best you can afford.

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:59 pm 
Smokin em up

QLD, Australia

ok thanks for the advice. id been dreading doing it but i just took out the air cleaner and it was like flininging around one of those welcome mats you put outside your house! and had about 2 cm if sand in bottom of box. the real problem im having is diagnosis i cant seem to be able to find which lash ajuster to pull out also is it usal to have the rocker arms move from one side to anouthe about 3 or 4 mills?

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

VIC, Australia

If the air cleaner was that bad, then chances are the previous owner neglected to service the car properly. Try changing the oil it may quieten that noisy lifter.

She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!