Fordmods Logo

Slipping pulley belt cause 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 53 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Online
User avatar

Posts: 2473

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

bondy99 wrote:
Mad2

Yeah ok, thanks for that extra info about tightness, wasn't sure if it had to be done to a specific torque setting.

Fun and games will begin when crunch time happens.



believe the torque setting going by the ellery's manual is 125 Nm
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

96ELGli,

No worries, thanks, I thought that's what you was saying as an example. How very true it was at home this time, I have a sneak suspicion it might have just started at some point when I came back from Hendon the night before. The ribbed belt was shaved at the front.
*********************************************************************************
Mad2,

Thanks for the torque setting number.

I'm still trying to work out how to stop the engine from turning when refitting the Harmonic Balancer, I'm certain it will get tight on the shaft when going in. Having an auto gearbox might be bit more of a challenge.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 496

Joined: 14th Sep 2011

Ride: BF II Gas Ute

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hello,

It may also have been disturbed when you changed the Alternator. Looking back you can often see a sequence of events that fit together. Normally I would use a breaker bar and rubber mallet do it up.

 

_________________

Regards 96ELGli

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 4:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Hi 96ELGli,

That's probably what has happened, the 3rd time replacing the alternator most likely triggered it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Online
User avatar

Posts: 2473

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

bondy99 wrote:
Mad2,

Thanks for the torque setting number.

I'm still trying to work out how to stop the engine from turning when refitting the Harmonic Balancer, I'm certain it will get tight on the shaft when going in. Having an auto gearbox might be bit more of a challenge.



this will get me shot......... :roll: :roll: again

i did what your mechanic did to undo it .......... then when i wanted to do it up tighter...... i did the opposite to the undo .... IF you do this - YOU accept all risks & accept what can happen! you can break the crank doing it this way :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Mad 2

Too risky for me that way but thanks for the method suggested.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Online
User avatar

Posts: 2473

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

bondy99 wrote:
Mad 2

Too risky for me that way but thanks for the method suggested.



yeah ... no probs ... another way is to jam torque converter/starter motor ring gear [on torque converter]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Looks like I'll have to remove the starter motor, nothing is straight forward and probably remove the radiator again to get that front seal out. Less chance of damage to the radiator I guess.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

I've attempted to tighten up that HB this arvo, took a long time, no breaker bar, and could not take the starter motor off, my back's a bit crook.

I don't know how far back that HB goes, but looks sort of ok. Could not stop the engine from spinning around, so held HB with one hand simultaneously holding socket with ratchet bar and hitting bar handle with hammer with other hand...it inched towards the back very slowly.

I don't know if it still needs to go further back or if the HB might go out of alignment from other pullies if back further.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:56 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

It will only go on as far as required.

It is on a very slight taper.

 

_________________

SWC

South West Customs


Members of the SWC Stable, fordebgt93, TROYMAN, Benj, svo_matt, Mrs C, eb_fairmont, Total_tool, Terroristghia

Last edited by SWC on Sun Feb 21, 2016 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 8:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Online
User avatar

Posts: 2473

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

bondy99 wrote:
my back's a bit crook.



I don't know if it still needs to go further back or if the HB might go out of alignment from other pullies if back further.




take care of ya back coz it will stuff you up for the rest of ya life if ya don't :?


yeah like grumps said .. will only go on so far
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Thanks to everyone for their guidance and advice.

I've got the HB as far as it goes (I think), fitted tensioner, belt, thermos fans, air box and tube.

Every pulley appeared to be in alignment. Started engine, all seems to running ok , still never got around to tighten bold to required torque 125Nm.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Just do it to FT Nm (f**k Tight Nm :D ). 125Nm is f**k Tight, most places would be licky to get that tension.

 

_________________

SWC

South West Customs


Members of the SWC Stable, fordebgt93, TROYMAN, Benj, svo_matt, Mrs C, eb_fairmont, Total_tool, Terroristghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

SWC hahahaha :) :D , yes it is tight, I don't think the bolt will work loose in a hurry. Only goes to 110Nm on the smaller 1/2" drive wrench, got a bigger one with 3/4" drive, goes to 300 FT/Lb. heavy mother F****er)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Slipping pulley belt cause
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Hello again,

I should have replaced the front seal before I put the harmonic balancer on.

There was two reasons I did not do so.

Firstly, it was dry and not wet around the seal where the balancer sits.

Secondly, It was a difficult for me to remove the front seal due to limited space and awkward area for my back.

I placed some oil on the shaft of the harmonic balancer and around the rubber of the front seal prior to installation.

I have driven the vehicle since then without any signs of an oil leak.

However, last 2 days I noticed I noticed oil on the ground at the rear of sump, I jacked the vehicle up and traced the source of that oil leak, it was coming from the front.

I read somewhere that oil might escape from the keyway, I never put any silastic in that area.

Probably bit late now maybe.

I'm wondering if I was to have the new harmonic balancer removed to fit a new seal, would the process of removing it cause the rubber compound to break, or would it be easier just to remove the bolt, place silicon onto washer that covers keyway and retighten bolt?

Any suggestions?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names