Fordmods Logo

speed limiter 

 

Page 4 of 5 [ 69 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:26 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

kovac wrote:
i have hit the limiter on my el futura at around 180 and it felt like it waz struggling to go further but now i have a bf xr6t at just shy of 215 both were x highway patrols and even they werent exact i found with the bf doing 110 on the free way i was actually doing 108 - 107 according to gps


Does the BF show your speed digitally where the odometer is (interested as you say its ex HWP)?

And yeah, BF's (since a change in the ADR's occurred on 2006) report speed 3 km/h faster than you're actually doing. They also seem to be only that far out all the way up.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 3:14 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 327

Joined: 23rd Apr 2008

Ride: ED, EB11, 351 XF

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

MY EBII I6 Manual Fairmont has hit 200+ and so has my Old mans EBII V8 Fairmont Ghia
Wouldnt recomend it though because my drive shaft in my EB I6 started to come loose at the diff :shock: :shock: :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 3:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

95 fairmont ghia (all xr running gear) had no limiter, now its running an ef tickford manual ecu j3 chip and haven't had it back on the dyno to check if its limited or not.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 3:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 404

Joined: 4th May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Location: Noosa
QLD, Australia

I had my auto to manual converted EF gli with an EF xr6 manual ECU and i saw well over 235khm in fourth gear on the dyno. This was with the stock tail shaft and all. Seemed to hold up quite well too. I was just amazed at how long 4th gear actually is. I would have loved to have seem what it would pull out of 5th.

 

_________________

99 AU Fairlane Ghia V8 Black Leather, 19" ANZ 5+5's with 245/35 rubber
Full sound system. Extractors, Dual 2.25" exhaust.
Lowered on Tickford XR8 springs and shocks!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 4:04 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

EF-MattyB wrote:
I had my auto to manual converted EF gli with an EF xr6 manual ECU and i saw well over 235khm in fourth gear on the dyno. This was with the stock tail shaft and all. Seemed to hold up quite well too. I was just amazed at how long 4th gear actually is. I would have loved to have seem what it would pull out of 5th.


there is only 3 ways you could get that speed in 4th..
1= you have a 2.77 diff ratio..(i doubt it)
or 2= your engine will rev 7000rpm?( after alot of engine work)
or 3= you speedo is seriously f**k up..lol

iv only managed to get just over 190kmh in 4th with a 3.27 diff reving @5700rpm..
do the math its not possable with xr6 diff ratio and factory rev limiter... :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 4:27 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
EF-MattyB wrote:
I had my auto to manual converted EF gli with an EF xr6 manual ECU and i saw well over 235khm in fourth gear on the dyno. This was with the stock tail shaft and all. Seemed to hold up quite well too. I was just amazed at how long 4th gear actually is. I would have loved to have seem what it would pull out of 5th.


there is only 3 ways you could get that speed in 4th..
1= you have a 2.77 diff ratio..(i doubt it)
or 2= your engine will rev 7000rpm?( after alot of engine work)
or 3= you speedo is seriously f**k up..lol

iv only managed to get just over 190kmh in 4th with a 3.27 diff reving @5700rpm..
do the math its not possable with xr6 diff ratio and factory rev limiter... :roll:


It's a EF GLi, so would be a 3.08 ratio. Means #2 at more modest revs, and #3. Unless he;s quoting the dyno roller speed.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 404

Joined: 4th May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Location: Noosa
QLD, Australia

Well put it this way, the speedo inside my car went past the 220kmh and kept going for a conciderable amount. I saw dyno speed in excess of 230kmh. Im just stating what i saw. That was all the way up until the 5750rpm limiter.

The car has the standard 3.08 diff ratio with a ED t5.

 

_________________

99 AU Fairlane Ghia V8 Black Leather, 19" ANZ 5+5's with 245/35 rubber
Full sound system. Extractors, Dual 2.25" exhaust.
Lowered on Tickford XR8 springs and shocks!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3805

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

On that note, is it mathematically possible that my old auto would kick down a gear when hoofing it from cruising along nicely at the ton? Ie - 160km/h, put the boot in, and it'd change down a gear and start accelerating?

3.21 diff....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 7:46 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 103

Joined: 10th May 2007

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: EF

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

Back to the original question, How do you remove the speed limiter?
I have 3.9 diff and hit the limiter real quick the few times ive had it at sandown. with my diff ratio and no speedo corrector (apart from black drive gear) my speedo reads 10ks under, which means im hitting the limiter at 170. (gps confirmed this at 167)
Yes i have a tailshaft loop, no im running stock ecu.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 7:48 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 103

Joined: 10th May 2007

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: EF

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

Back to the original question, How do you remove the speed limiter?
I have 3.9 diff and hit the limiter real quick the few times ive had it at sandown. with my diff ratio and no speedo corrector (apart from black drive gear) my speedo reads 10ks under, which means im hitting the limiter at 170. (gps confirmed this at 167)
Yes i have a tailshaft loop, no im running stock ecu.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 9:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

66 coupe wrote:




No actually, I think This Link is far superior and better $$$ value

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Last edited by krisisdog on Mon May 25, 2009 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Mon May 25, 2009 8:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 103

Joined: 10th May 2007

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: EF

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

cool thanks, but $145???

does anyone have a wiring diagram for one of these? (or one that i can open up and look at)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Mon May 25, 2009 8:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3805

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

www.tiperformance.com.au

A wiring diagram for a J3 chip? Hehehehehe... For all that effort, you'd be much better off just doing as Krisis suggests and purchasing a chip. You could even get your car tuned differently at the same time....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speed limiter
Posted: Mon May 25, 2009 9:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 103

Joined: 10th May 2007

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: EF

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

fiend wrote:
http://www.tiperformance.com.au

A wiring diagram for a J3 chip? Hehehehehe... For all that effort, you'd be much better off just doing as Krisis suggests and purchasing a chip. You could even get your car tuned differently at the same time....



I was talking bout "This Link" speed limit removal plug in device, but you make a good point as I need to do something bout chipping my baby. Do you know if the TI performance J3 chips also remove speed limiter?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 5  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names