Fordmods Logo

Assistance Please 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Assistance Please
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:26 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 1st May 2005

Location: VB country
VIC, Australia

No this is not some crude joke...i need some advice
Was installing a Pioneer H/U into an EF and modified the connections so that the unit can be operated with out turning the key by joining the 12V+ & ACC wires together ( while doing so could here the BEM clicking over).
Everything was working sweet but the bloke decided to change the setup and seperate the wires so that he could get the extra features from the unit and in doing so i think the BEM has gone haywire cos now the unit retains no memory and only works on ACC, and car + unit only work when the wires are joined.
NOW...i was wondering if there was like a way of resetting the BEM or accept the wiring or something and fix this s**t
Ahhh, i know its alot to read but would appreciate any assistance cos were goin NUCKING FUTS!!! :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Check the fuses! Also, the two wires should never be crossed! If you wanted the deck to come on, remove the acc wire altogether, and have 12v go straight to the +ve and acc wire from the deck only!

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:37 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 1st May 2005

Location: VB country
VIC, Australia

no already checked, all fuses are good
pioneers units only work via ACC and wont work just via a 12V+ (tried this first)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

They will if the 12v line from the car goes to the acc line on the deck and the +ve from the deck as well. But you dont join the acc to acc and the +ve to +ve and then short the two.

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 912

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: XR8

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ex-cabi wrote:
no already checked, all fuses are good
pioneers units only work via ACC and wont work just via a 12V+ (tried this first)


what head unit have you got..... All my pioneer head units, i was able to run without the use of the ACC being on. just hooked the +ve and ACC wire 2gether and has worked fine since (this was in my 95 XG) mates vl, mates 200ZR, and my dads Courier

my bad if i read it wrong, im a tad drunk

 

_________________

03 XR8 ute.... 251.5rwkw and counting
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

you can't join the permanant positive and the accessary positive of the vehicle together and expect it to work,what you can do is connect a permanant positive from the car to the + and acc wires of the head unit,,this will work,,just remembe you have to turn the hu off manually..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:46 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

This may get better response if posted in the Car Audio forum here, rather than Off-Topic Chat :)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:06 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 1st May 2005

Location: VB country
VIC, Australia

so does anyone know if resetting the BEM will work?? and just to make sure i do this by leaving the car in ACC for 30min (like for smartlock)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:39 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

the radio isnt bem controlled... the bem will have clicked because u will have been back feeding current to it... the problem sounds like he's connected the acc+ line to both the +ve and the acc conenctions on the deck... recheck connections i say...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

xpression wrote:
the radio isnt bem controlled... the bem will have clicked because u will have been back feeding current to it... the problem sounds like he's connected the acc+ line to both the +ve and the acc conenctions on the deck... recheck connections i say...


it does control the radio - firstly it detects when the radio is turned on and if fitted will raise the antenna and secondly will supply power to play with the key off - then after an hour will turn the radio off to save a flat battery.

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

sounds like the 2 connections are accidentally reversed.
also, the antenna is controlled by the radio.
i dont think the pioneer os anyother brand will do the 30minutes without a lkey - also built into oem radio.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Assistance Please
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 6:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 107

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ex-cabi wrote:
the unit retains no memory and only works on ACC


Well that sounds like you've got the ACC wire and the constant power wire of the car mixed up. It only loses memory when it loses power.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:27 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 1st May 2005

Location: VB country
VIC, Australia

thaks fellas sorted it out, all's apples and me mates one happy chappy :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names