Fordmods Logo

Clarion 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 44 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 3:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

if the amp allows 4 channel bridging that would run one sub rather well :)

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

This gets so confusing.

So as stated above,

if it's 60*4 at 4ohms it would be 240w powering both the subs. Does this mean they will get 240wrms each or 120wrms each?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

as i worked out above with the bridging of the 2 channel together so u will have 180W X2

so each of your sub will have to run on 180W (a bit over half there potential)

unless u get a better amp/s

the setups i recommended above work well

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

This is how I work out your amp (same as above I believe)...

• Power / channel @ 4ohm 14.4V: 60WRMS x 4
• Power / channel @ 2ohm 14.4V: 90WRMS x 4
• Power / bridged @ 4ohm 14.4V: 180WRMS x 2

Each sub has one 4 ohms voice coil?

Each sub will get 180WRMS

ja_50_nh wrote:
So 240wrms? Better than overpowering the sub isn't it?


You guys on here all seem to reckon go with a smaller amp than sub... I reckon this is really bad...

I always run a larger amp (marginally)...

Reason being... Old mate here is likely to crank it and go this sounds wicked and keep cranking the amp until it clips... A "clip"is an injection of DC current onto the voice coil where the coil may withstand this for a fraction of a second... Then you may find it becomes open circuit...

If the amp is bigger than the sub... You can crank the amp all day and it will keep going until the sub can no longer reproduce the sound... The sub will then begin to distort... This can be heard as bass that sounds like s**t basically... Its a fair indication to turn it down a touch until clear bass comes back... A decent sub will handle distortion for much much longer than it will handle a clip of the amp...

This why I always go larger amp than sub... I do a lot of stage sound... Everyone I've ever worked with has much larger amps on stage than the rating of the cabs... And stage amps usually have clip protection where I don't think I've ever seen a car amp that has clip protection... Keeping in mind its not uncommon for stage cabs to be upward of 10 grand each for the good stuff... One clip can be a great waste of money...

I highly recommend you don't go maxing that amp out...

My 2 cents...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Last edited by TimmyA on Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

ja_50_nh wrote:
Your feedback has been very helpful, thanks.


Please do not listen to anything he's said.
100% rubbish :roll:

300rms subs should be fed 300rms, or more (headroom).
How many ohm are the subs? Single or dual voice coil?
With your amp they will be getting sweet f**k all power either way.



My best advice though as I mentioned earlier is to completely disregard anything else you've read in this thread so far. (edit, except for what phong and timmytimtim said)

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:53 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So in other words,

2 amps would be enough for this setup?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:00 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Not the amp you have... No...

If you had dual voice coil subs yes...

But the amp you have will not go into 1 channel... The minimum is two... So no matter what you do the most you can get out of this sub per channel is 180W into 4 ohms (2 Channels)... If you had dual voice subs you could feed 180W into each 4 ohm voice coil (360WRMS per sub)...

You either need to get 2 voice coil subs (4 ohms each coil)... Or an amp capable of delivering at least 300WRMS into 1 channel at 4 ohms...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:04 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

-

Last edited by ja_50_nh on Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:07 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Mhm, well the clarion site doesnt have my sub nor my amp, i got specs from there, as the downgraded models (old ones).

My sub went up by 50 rms and im sure the amp said 4/2/1?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I'll reply to your PMs here.
Either get a decent mono block that delivers 600-800rms @2ohm, or just run one sub per bridged channel on your amp. 1+2 for one sub, 3+4 for the other.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:31 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

How much power would it end up giving, per sub ofc?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

krissdog

i did try to tell him to get 300W RMS monoblock

but judging by what he wants he is going to give it a thrashing so lowering his RMS below its max is prob a better thing

but god knows i wouldnt put 360W RMS into those subs as that is like at or on the boarder of warranty void there is a reason they set that a warranty void limit

in my experience with clarion they are single coils mostly duals seem to be rarer in the clarion subs so i wouldnt confuse the fella to much as they are most likely single coil

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:55 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

He already said they are single coils...

Whats this rubbish about warranty?

You reckon running bellow the RMS wont void warranty and running above it will? This is crap...

If he runs a smaller amp and cranks it and delivers DC (clips) to the sub, I will guarantee Clarion will not replace under warranty... They will tell you you're a tool for running too small of an amp...

If he runs a bigger amp the sub will distort before the amp clips as fair indication to turn it down a tad... Again if left to run distorted it will burn out eventually... Again Clarion will not replace under warranty...

You never under power any driver at the risk of clipping the amp...

As I have already said...

You need one big monoblock...
or two larger 2 channel amps that can be bridged into 1 channel at around 300WRMS 4ohm
or get another amp the same as yours and buy two subs with dual 4 ohm voice coils...

You feel like you are talking to yourself sometimes...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:04 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

No, taken in what everyones said.

As I have already paid off the system and waitingfor it to arrive, I'm just going to refund the amp and ask for something more powerful.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:14 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Not so much you...

After krisisdog and myself said you never under power a driver...

Old mate above says there you'll void warranty if you over power an amp... Is he not aware what clipping is? And how dangerous it can be?

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names