Fordmods Logo

Help required installing aftermarket radio in Ford EL Falcon 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: Help required installing aftermarket radio in Ford EL Falcon
Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:02 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Ford EL GLi

NSW, Australia

Hello, this is my first time posting here, I've searched multiple forums but don't have much of a solid idea of how to replace the normal Tape player in the Ford Falcon GLi with a aftermarket one (http://www.jbhifi.com.au/car-sound-gps- ... sku-98381/) I managed to take out the frame that contains the cigarrete holder and lighter (I think it is called a Facsia). I managed to take the factory tape unit out of the car and disconnect the wiring. So far so good.

The new unit came with something called a mounting sleeve, and it gots all these strange holes on it, and I guess that the new radio goes into the sleeve, but how does the mounting sleeve mount to the car? There is no where on the car to screw it or something...... The sleeve fits just right with the correct width, but without anything to mount it, it falls down. The factory tape had this mounting bracket with screws on it which go into the front. I tried taking the factory mounting bracket off the old tape and place it on the new one without the sleeve but it didn't work, only 1 or 2 small holes slightly aligns to the new unit and that doesn't provide enough strength for it to stay in the car securely.

I also did something wrong to the factory radio by entering the code wrong 3 times after I put it back , how do I recover it ? I waited for like 3 hours with everything turned off... same thing. Disconnected the battery too.

Thanks in advance, please help me fix these issues.

Post subject: Re: Help required installing aftermarket radio in Ford EL Falcon
Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:48 pm 
Smokin em up

Ride: EL Wagon, DF LTD

VIC, Australia