Fordmods Logo

How do i get better sound with standard HU? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 4:55 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 4

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,
Im fair new to the forums, and picked up heaps of good tips on doing little mods to the car (have a BA wagon by the way), but the one thing i cant really find is how to get better sound out of the standard HU.
Pretty much everyone talks about putting in a new one and just bypassing the old, but im not a huge fan of that look, and rather keep it simple up front.

So pretty much what ive come up with is replace speakers, replace wires, put in an amp under somewhere, and the chuck in a JL Cleansweep or soemthing similar.

Is this a good way of going about it, or am i just wasting my time?

Any comments would sweet,
Cheers

 

_________________

"We're not here to lick stamps!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 732

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: LTDHO

Location: South eastern
VIC, Australia

Usually it's best to go for good (better than standard) speakers and a good crisp amplifier.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:30 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hey Dude,

You don't NEED to change the head unit to get decent sound, although i have found that a head unit change in itself can change the sound immensly.

However, if you want to keep it simple, buy yourself a good quality amp like Pioneer or Alpine with speaker level inputs (Make sure it has Speaker input and not RCA only) that way you can use the wires from the existing speakers as the signal for the AMP.

Better speakers would do you well too, but make sure you look at the RMS rating and not the Max power, some speakers will say 400W max but only have 50W RMS where other will be 300W Max and 100W RMS. Same with AMP's.

Good Luck,

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1149

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: 2013 Ford Focus ST

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Fairmont_03_5.4 wrote:
Hey Dude,

You don't NEED to change the head unit to get decent sound, although i have found that a head unit change in itself can change the sound immensly.

However, if you want to keep it simple, buy yourself a good quality amp like Pioneer or Alpine with speaker level inputs (Make sure it has Speaker input and not RCA only) that way you can use the wires from the existing speakers as the signal for the AMP.

Better speakers would do you well too, but make sure you look at the RMS rating and not the Max power, some speakers will say 400W max but only have 50W RMS where other will be 300W Max and 100W RMS. Same with AMP's.

Good Luck,


thanks for this mate, this is exactly what i am after, i only wanted to change my speakers but would obviously need to run an amp as the stock HU is like 100watt or sumthing pathetic, once ive done by engine mods i think i will look at amp and speakers :)

 

_________________

I hate arriving at my destination as then I have to get out of my car!

New Build Thread
the-garage-f53/the-beast-v2-0-phil-s-2013-ford-focus-st-t122703.html

Old Build Thread
the-garage-f53/phil-s-bf-sr-gt-build-thread-lots-of-pics-t98705.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:22 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

cbg wrote:
So pretty much what ive come up with is replace speakers, replace wires, put in an amp under somewhere, and the chuck in a JL Cleansweep or soemthing similar.

Is this a good way of going about it, or am i just wasting my time?

pretty much exactly what i did except i used a rockford fosgate 3sixty.1 to do the processing instead of a cleansweep. i also added a slimline 12" sub.
works pretty good, i'm happy with it.
it's still not as good as a decent aftermarket source unit, but it's alot better then stock.
the processor definitely neatens up the factory signal a fair bit.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 577

Joined: 30th Apr 2009

Ride: 92 EB Falcon

phil545 wrote:
Fairmont_03_5.4 wrote:
Hey Dude,

You don't NEED to change the head unit to get decent sound, although i have found that a head unit change in itself can change the sound immensly.

However, if you want to keep it simple, buy yourself a good quality amp like Pioneer or Alpine with speaker level inputs (Make sure it has Speaker input and not RCA only) that way you can use the wires from the existing speakers as the signal for the AMP.

Better speakers would do you well too, but make sure you look at the RMS rating and not the Max power, some speakers will say 400W max but only have 50W RMS where other will be 300W Max and 100W RMS. Same with AMP's.

Good Luck,


thanks for this mate, this is exactly what i am after, i only wanted to change my speakers but would obviously need to run an amp as the stock HU is like 100watt or sumthing pathetic, once ive done by engine mods i think i will look at amp and speakers :)

factory headunits are less than 100W :lol: :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1149

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: 2013 Ford Focus ST

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol you sure, thought they were coz the standard speakers are like 25w each. oh well either way they are hopless

 

_________________

I hate arriving at my destination as then I have to get out of my car!

New Build Thread
the-garage-f53/the-beast-v2-0-phil-s-2013-ford-focus-st-t122703.html

Old Build Thread
the-garage-f53/phil-s-bf-sr-gt-build-thread-lots-of-pics-t98705.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:34 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 4

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

awesome, thanks for the helps guys. think im gonna take that money i got back from tax and put it to good use.
also, thinking i might chuck in a 10inch sub in the back somewhere, just for that little extra. i mean, im saving money by not buying the HU, may aswell spend it soemthing else haha

 

_________________

"We're not here to lick stamps!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 6:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

i'm fairly sure the factory head unit is actually around 200w which is why a standard speaker level input on most amplifiers won't work properly. not on my mtx comp amps anyway (bf though)
you will need a line level convertor....

on the upside my stock stereo in the bf with aftermarket 5x7's from head unit with a line convertor running an mtx amp with pioneer sub sounds about as good as you could ask for for a standard head unit. haven't had a need to swap the standard tweeters either.

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 8:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 577

Joined: 30th Apr 2009

Ride: 92 EB Falcon

low_ryda wrote:
i'm fairly sure the factory head unit is actually around 200w which is why a standard speaker level input on most amplifiers won't work properly. not on my mtx comp amps anyway (bf though)
you will need a line level convertor....

on the upside my stock stereo in the bf with aftermarket 5x7's from head unit with a line convertor running an mtx amp with pioneer sub sounds about as good as you could ask for for a standard head unit. haven't had a need to swap the standard tweeters either.

Well all headunits vary in power e.g Premium sound, POV pack and age are all factors.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

yes this is true, mines a premo sound with no factory sub/amp and i couldn't use my line level inputs on my mtx amps.

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 4

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well, after reading up on what everyone has been saying, i bit the bullet and went out a bought a bunch of gear.

splits - Kicker RS60.2
http://www.kicker.com/rs_series

Sub - 10 inch JL Audio W0
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_subs ... ries_id=32

Amp - Kicker ZX350.4
http://www.kicker.com/zx_amplifiers

plus all the wiring and line adapters. i have an idea to fiberglass a box in the back just behind the wheel arc, so the sub takes up the least amount of space, and will chuck the amp under the driver seat. keeps everything clean, and out of site. will post pics once its all installed.

still very open to all comments, and cheers again guys for all your help.

 

_________________

"We're not here to lick stamps!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:00 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 151

Joined: 1st Dec 2009

Ride: 93 eb2 falcon

Location: toowoomba
QLD, Australia

if you stay with the stock HU, putting a new and better ground from the HU to the chassis is an absolute must! the sound quality will go way up and go that bit louder without sounding like crap!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 101

Joined: 31st Aug 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 2006 BF mkII XR6

Location: Wimmera
VIC, Australia

ranio wrote:
if you stay with the stock HU, putting a new and better ground from the HU to the chassis is an absolute must! the sound quality will go way up and go that bit louder without sounding like crap!


i need to be a complete noob here and ask what a "better ground" is?

 

_________________

Formally 97_el_futura

2006 Lightning Strike BF mkII XR6, stock engine with turbo intake.
Lower grille mesh, 35% tint, Xforce exhaust, SL front, SSL rear, terrible sound system and FPV copies.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get better sound with standard HU?
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

i have a 12' in the far rear left corner in the boot in a custom glass box. i didn't have much hope for it because it wasn't very large, but open the 40 side of the 60/40 split rear seats and the boot becomes your box :D

my amps on the floor up on the top deck of the boot but i want to try get a factory satnav bracket and mount it there would be alot neater.

i'll get a pic of the box if you wish.

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names