Fordmods Logo

stereo shelf problem! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: stereo shelf problem!
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have recently installed my head unit replacing the old stacker.

Only problem is that it only fits on the bottom half leaving a whole.

Anyone have any ideas on what to do?

Like getting a single shelf ? The only problem is i thought that the whole plastic mold around the front which includes the ash tray and that, only has the shelf molded to the bottom ?

Image

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

I think you can buy a tray that just clips in. I have installed one of into an AU

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:47 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 84

Joined: 21st Jan 2005

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Just buy a stereo surround for a lower spec model. eg. Futura/GLi something that only had the single radio in it. Problem solved.

 

_________________

In hope we believe... but in God we trust...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

oh k. do you no where i can purchase one from ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

neddy wrote:
Just buy a stereo surround for a lower spec model. eg. Futura/GLi something that only had the single radio in it. Problem solved.


daniel000 said his HU only fits in the bottom DIN. Can't really see why it wouldn't fit in the top - that would make more sense as then you can use a base model surround as you suggested

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

oh and was it hard for ya to install those crome handles cuz i think i mite get a pair for mine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Quote:
Just buy a stereo surround for a lower spec model. eg. Futura/GLi something that only had the single radio in it. Problem solved.


What do ya mean? Are you talking about a tray ? can it be removed seperatley
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:29 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The head unit does fit in the top tray. You have to use the factory bracket that is on the factory head unit and drill another hole for a bolt to fit onto the after market head unit. Then get yourself a GLi stereo surround (or any other model with the single face factory head unit) so that you have the tray on the bottom.

The tray is not removable, it is one whole piece plastic surround.

How come the head unit doesn't fit in the top slot?

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

LCD screen?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i no it does. but for mine it keeps jamming about half way thru. il have a look at drilling holes into the factory brackets, but from wat i can remember they didnt match up.... so i cant get a plastic pocket/tray on its own ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:41 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

daniel000 wrote:
i no it does. but for mine it keeps jamming about half way thru. il have a look at drilling holes into the factory brackets, but from wat i can remember they didnt match up.... so i cant get a plastic pocket/tray on its own ?


Have you checked that the rubber stopper at the end of the head unit isn't too long? push it all the way in if it is still sticking out. Make sure you move all the wiring at the back out of the way.

With the bracket, yes you will need to drill holes to make them fit onto the head unit. I took mine to JB and the guy just did it for me for free. He didn't measure it but did a perfect fit.

You can't get one that is factory...there may be aftermarket plastic pocket ones which you could use to fill the gap. Though that just means you have to custom make the surround to fit the pocket if it is too small or too big.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Not sure what you mean about the rubber stopper..sorry.
and you were saying that you took the ford bracket into jb ?

will this do the job ?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Universal-Din-Size-Pocket-ideal-4-HOLDEN-FORD-MAZDA_W0QQitemZ270162648449QQihZ017QQcategoryZ6775QQcmdZViewItem
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:02 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

daniel000 wrote:
Not sure what you mean about the rubber stopper..sorry.
and you were saying that you took the ford bracket into jb ?

will this do the job ?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Universal-Din-Size-Pocket-ideal-4-HOLDEN-FORD-MAZDA_W0QQitemZ270162648449QQihZ017QQcategoryZ6775QQcmdZViewItem


There is a nut at the back of the head unit which usually has a rubber stopper on it. If you don't have it then someone has removed it. In that case don't worry about it.

I went into JB to look for a bracket but they said they don't sell them and pointed me to the installation guy and said he'll just drill the holes in the right positions for me. I didn't have the head unit with me but the guy probably does it plenty of times to figure out where to drill the holes in the bracket. Works a charm.

I guess something like that pocket could do the trick...though I personally wouldn't pay $25 for a pocket which might look tacky later on. Just my opinion.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok thanks for that. ill try find this rubber stopper because its the first time anyone has removed the stacker.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names