Fordmods Logo

Sub Amp Not Enough Power? 

 

Page 4 of 6 [ 76 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 9:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

Well earlier in the thread someone was talkink abour running 2 amps by means of 4 gauge to distro block. Or "T" piece. Then from there have 2 8gauge wires to each amp (note it wasn't the op I don't think)
I said you'd be better off running 2 8gauge runs. I ment 2 4gauge runs.
Yea?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 10:58 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

You need to stop drinking. You've made yourself look like you have no idea in this thread :oops:

I've had a 2000-3000Wrms (components vary now and then) system for the last few years and never upgraded "the big 3" and had some dimming at high volumes. I upgraded "the big 3" and still have the same dimming :p I have stop ground plus 0ga to engine block and 0ga to chassis and 4ga to alternator. The alternator can only supply 100A so 4ga is fine. 0ga throughout the rest of the car.

Upgrading "the big 3" can't hurt but it's not some magic fix.

[edit]
The cap and 2nd battery in my sig are not installed yet. I'll see what difference they make :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 11:27 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 299

Joined: 19th Aug 2007

Location: Port Augusta
SA, Australia

Correct me if i am wrong but arnt most EA-EL falcons running a 70amp alternator? (i know you drive a VT Stone)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

87SIlude wrote:
I didn't say run 2 8gauges tho. Well I did orgianaly. But I ment run 2 4 gauges.
With what you said there when you go from 4 to 2 8s its doing EXACTLY the same thing isn't it. Restricting the power flow by increasing the resistance.


Resistance is also dependant on the length, but anyway if you were so inclined you'd run 4g in, split it into 2x4g, or 1x4g to the mono, and 1x8 to the speaker amp.

Please stop 'contributing' to this thread now.

jrloz wrote:
Correct me if i am wrong but arnt most EA-EL falcons running a 70amp alternator? (i know you drive a VT Stone)

100 amp for EL, EF is 110. Dunno about the boxcars.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Yeah the ED is 70amp...

Resistance is determined by the material (copper), the cross sectional area of the conductors, the length of the cable, and the temperature at which the conductors opperate...

1 4gauge through a distro block into either a 4 and an 8 as mentioned above, or two 8's depending what the monoblock requires... Is what I'd reccommend...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

87SIlude wrote:
I didn't say run 2 8gauges tho. Well I did orgianaly. But I ment run 2 4 gauges.
With what you said there when you go from 4 to 2 8s its doing EXACTLY the same thing isn't it. Restricting the power flow by increasing the resistance.


You have 1 4gauge then going into two 8's for one to each amp... If each amp draws(for arguments sake) 40amp each... you could run two 8 gauges the entire length...

Or run 1 gauge to the boot (easier and cheaper) and then using a fused distro block then go an 8 gauge to each amp... This way there is 80amps on the 4 gauge and only 40 amps on each 8 gauge... perfectly within the cables limits...

You missed the point here a 4 to 2x8's is perfectly fine because each 8 only runs one amp, not two... and running two 8's is rediculous... as I mentioned about... its all about how much current each cable has to handle not about overall resistance...

Cheers...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 6:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I really think its a lost cause man, its been explained to him several times by various people now lol

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 6:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 577

Joined: 30th Apr 2009

Ride: 92 EB Falcon

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
How did u make that pic in ur signature?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

Over it.
Thanks for your help all.

Cheers.

Last edited by 87SIlude on Wed May 12, 2010 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

krisisdog wrote:

In case you misunderstood, csa = cross sectional area.

Recommended max fuse size
8g = 50 amps
4g = 125 amps

Meaning you can get more power to the amps with 1 run of 4g than 2 runs of 8g!

hey krisdog
cheers for the info i learnt something new

i am only doing the big 3 upgrade so it makes my engine bay look a bit better and also o contemplating on doing a dual battery setup later on in the wagon, second battery isnt for stereo purposes its for running accessories of when i go fishing :twisted: :twisted:

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

lukas_bartko wrote:
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
How did u make that pic in ur signature?


Skills, that you do not possess. :P

BEAR80
Yeh a couple of fat runs of power cable actually do look pretty good! I always get comments on the 0g run in mine, most people dont know you can get power cable that fat.
Are you going to isolate the second battery solely to run your acc's?

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

krisisdog wrote:


BEAR80
Yeh a couple of fat runs of power cable actually do look pretty good! I always get comments on the 0g run in mine, most people dont know you can get power cable that fat.
Are you going to isolate the second battery solely to run your acc's?

hey krisisdog

i will be running a dual battery kit with a switching solenoid that is normally used in 4wd and it will be only used for accessories such as fluro lights and livebait tank air pumps and the such.

it will only be a smallish secondary battery as i will only need to have a power supply for a few hours to run a pair of 9watt fluros and a air pump

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 12:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Yeh should work fine with that setup.
Battery should last hours n hours running that, air pump will probably be under 10w, guessing its the same as whats used in aquariums?

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 12:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

very simmilar design but runs off 12v and it will be used on extended trips away as well.

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hey 87silude did I do my power system correctly when I was running 2 x 20w/ch stereo amps running off a 1ga cable run to the rear with a fused distribution block and 5 Autosund 2000 stiffening caps???

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 6  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names