Fordmods Logo

Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:33 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 15

Joined: 20th Aug 2009

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: qbn
NSW, Australia

i installed my 2 12" pioneer subs and kicker amp today and no sound will come outof the subs. the red protection light is on on the amp and the power flashes but doesnt stay on i read the manual for it on the web and did everything it said ie. check the connections fuses and voltage at both ends and it all seems to be fine. ive tried using two different head decks and it doesnt make a difference. i bought the subs and amps 2months ago second hand and i havent got around to installing the until today. is it possible that it is just broken or is their something i can do? please help im a noob and have no idea what to do to fix it!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 15

Joined: 20th Aug 2009

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: qbn
NSW, Australia

no ill go try that now. still doesnt explain why the protection light is on but?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Have you got the Remote wire connected? Also, where is the earth connected?

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 15

Joined: 20th Aug 2009

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: qbn
NSW, Australia

that didnt work :( .

yeah the remote power is connected and its earthed on the rear seat bolts. could it be the earth? i mean it has power but the power light is flashing and the protection light stays on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 1110

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BA MKII Fairlane GHIA

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

where you have earthed it have you sanded the area back to bare metal it sounds like a definate earth problem ... if its not that what size wiring are you using and what amp?
also did you buy the sub in a box if you did take the sub out and see if the wire's are attached to the sub
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:43 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 15

Joined: 20th Aug 2009

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: qbn
NSW, Australia

kicker 4 channel i think he said it was. i can bridge two twelves off it. i didnt sand back the area ill try that. yeah they are in a box but even with the subs disconnected the protection light is on?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 15

Joined: 20th Aug 2009

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: qbn
NSW, Australia

but how can it be an earthing problem the bracket for the seat bolts is welded on to the body and the earth is sitting in between the washer and the bolt?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:07 pm 
SA Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 916

Joined: 7th Oct 2007

Ride: Ford Ed

Location: Edwardstown, Adelaide
SA, Australia

you don't have the remote turn on connected to the Power antenna plug on the unit would ya

 

_________________

Adelaide E Series

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 12:16 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Has everyone missed the fact the protection light is on?

@OP, you have a multimeter?

There's probably a short circuit on the output, check the speaker wire doesn't have any thread bridging both terminals on the amp or the subs.

If you've got a mutlimeter, disconnect the subs, and check each one, make sure the coils measure the right ohm reading (or close enough), e.g. if they're supposed to be 4Ohm subs (the most common kind), look from something between 3 and 5 ohms.

If it's 0 (or close enough) the sub is dead.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Quicker way to test, un plug subs!
If the protection light stays on, by the sounds of things the amp's cactus, or, you've got the wiring to subs messed up.
If you could come up with some model numbers for the subs and amp thatd be good.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:24 am 
Commercial Sponsor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 71

Joined: 17th Sep 2009

Ride: CH Lancer

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

4 Channel bridged to 2 subs? Each sub needs to be single 4 ohm for this to work correctly.

Your amplifier isn't 2 ohm bridged stable. You need to link us to the subs so we can check out if they would wire correctly.

As said, disconnect the subs and see if the amp will actually turn on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Make sure that when you disconnect the subs do it at the amp to eliminate the wiring and the subs, if this gets rid of the protection led then reconnect the wiring and then disconnect the wiring at the sub and try it again, if the led is still red then there is a short to ground in the wiring, otherwise do as previously mentioned check the voice coils....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Subs Wont Work PLEASE HELP
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:28 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 15

Joined: 20th Aug 2009

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: qbn
NSW, Australia

thanks every1 for there help ended up just buyin a new amp, worked for about a day till the car wouldnt start at all apparently i need a bigger battery. bigger problems now but f**k my front end :cry:
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:09 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names