Fordmods Logo

BA dash in E-series? 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 48 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: BA dash in E-series?
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2098

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: egas bf xt

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

Well ive done a quick search but not found aything. Basically i just want know if the BA dash will physically fit in my EL. Then i suppose it would be nice to know if my speedo and tacho (and to a lesser extend, fuel pump, temperature etc etc) will work when i hook it up to the dash.

Is it possible?

Cheers guys

 

_________________

I can see through wooden doors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 866

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: XD 351, FG Ute

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

anything is possible but would it be a lot of work

 

_________________

WINNER:
Best modified car 1980 - 1989 Shannons show and shine 2006
Best XD-XH Darwin All Ford Day 2011

There is no substitute for cubic inches :twisted:

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:01 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

a hell of alot of work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 829

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 2004 Mazda Tribute

The cluster is based on data being picked up from the CAN bus, correct?

If thats the case, you'd need to have an analog/CAN-bus translator.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Forget using the BA cluster, short and simple.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Warlock wrote:
anything is possible but would it be a lot of work


hehe thats why i joined this site!
Dellboy, your EA is an absolute inspiration, i mean BA lights, the thingo that your puttting inot your dash that shows what gear your in just like the BA, the BA shfiter, he's proof of anythings possible, but it'd be a hell of a lot of work!

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2098

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: egas bf xt

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

I'm not afraid of doing a bit of work! Just so long as it doesn't cost me an arm and a leg.

I will look into this CAN bus translater 96ghia. Cheers for the replies.

And ditto what Mohekn said, i liked this site for the same reasons, in fact, it was this site that made me decide to buy a falcon in the first place :)

 

_________________

I can see through wooden doors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah, my car was 100% stock before i came along to this site, (apart from the exhaust) and i had no clue how to do ANY of it! if i wasnt part of this site, my car wouldnt look the same way it does now, and it would have costed twice as much to do! cause i woulda been stupid enough to pay others to do it! i mean my silver mesh grill is so f**k HOT! i love it!

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

haggis and mohekn I have looked into the BA dash idea, and the amount of cost to build an interperator will just not be worth the cost and effort, if you can find a way I would be very very interested, but I think you will have to give up that arm and leg to do it.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hmm just do it Dellboys way :) which is way awesome! n then do a blue led thing as well, that'll do it,

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 812

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6t

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

What about if u did a complete ba wiring conversion?id imagine you would also have to do engine and gearbox conversion while your at it. It would probably just work out cheaper to buy a ba.

 

_________________

Rides:
-Ba xr6t, wog cooler, K&N pod on custom intake, battery moved to other side, flash, custom cooler piping, presons auto, car pc, 19" lenso speed 6, going for 300rwkw
-FZR 250- run around bike

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

bogan393 wrote:
What about if u did a complete ba wiring conversion?id imagine you would also have to do engine and gearbox conversion while your at it. It would probably just work out cheaper to buy a ba.


True, but hardly as much fun ....... :twisted:

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 465

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EL Falcon GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

lol! very very true!

 

_________________

Buy my car :) cause i just bought a BA XR6 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:56 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

MoTec Mx00's are 100% CAN compatible ;)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 4:10 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 5563

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: NF Fairlane [BLUBEL]

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Buy a BA maybe???? :P

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names