Fordmods Logo

ED Cruise 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ED Cruise
Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 6:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

Hey there i just a got ED XR6 MOMO cruise steering whell, can i got to the wrecker and buy the cruise modual and put it in my car? if so how hard is it to do?

Daniel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 12:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

It is not quite as simple as it sounds.

You will need the floor loom at least which will require you to rip out the seats and carpet, and then you will need to make sure that your steering column loom has the correct plugs.

Body/Floor wiring loom from a car with Cruise Control
Cruise Control ECU - located under the centre console
Vacuum Pump - behind windscreen washer bottle LHS Engine Bay
Vacuum Actuator and Cruise Cable- behind brake master cylinder RHS Engine Bay
Vacuum Release/Cancel Switch on Brake Pedal and Clutch Pedal if Manual
Associated loom and plugs to connect all the above
Associated Vacuum hoses to connect all the above.

It is doable, and you would be best to strip all the components yourself from the donor car, so you can either take pictures or notes of how it came out so you can put it in yours.

Good Luck
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:17 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 18

Joined: 20th Sep 2007

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Spot on mate, thats what i did to my ED XR6... Have Fun.. :D

BenJ wrote:
It is not quite as simple as it sounds.

You will need the floor loom at least which will require you to rip out the seats and carpet, and then you will need to make sure that your steering column loom has the correct plugs.

Body/Floor wiring loom from a car with Cruise Control
Cruise Control ECU - located under the centre console
Vacuum Pump - behind windscreen washer bottle LHS Engine Bay
Vacuum Actuator and Cruise Cable- behind brake master cylinder RHS Engine Bay
Vacuum Release/Cancel Switch on Brake Pedal and Clutch Pedal if Manual
Associated loom and plugs to connect all the above
Associated Vacuum hoses to connect all the above.

It is doable, and you would be best to strip all the components yourself from the donor car, so you can either take pictures or notes of how it came out so you can put it in yours.

Good Luck
BenJ
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

is it possible to get an after market cruise control pack and hook it up to the normal steering wheel?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Possibly. The Factory cruise buttons have built in resistors to work with the factory cruise module. You would need to establish what signal the aftermarket cruise needs and then try to match it so it will work.

Or it may not work at all.

You can always get the horn pad that doesn't have cruise buttons. I know a fellow member on Fordmods that would happily swap you his for the cruise one.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 4:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

i will do some research and let you know if i end up wanting to swap
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 7:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

What condition is your mates center pad in??
Also is it possible to get the buttons and button housing repainted?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

danbode wrote:
What condition is your mates center pad in??
Also is it possible to get the buttons and button housing repainted?


benj would be talking about me, i have a non cruise momo horn pad and its like new, and if you want to swap and its in good nick i would love to do a swap, if you want.

here is a pic of it


Image

 

_________________

BANNED

Last edited by BuNtEr on Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:43 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If your car has power windows the cruise loom is already there.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 6:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

Steady ED

For Real? Where Bouts? so i just have to put the steering wheel on and fine the plug or what?

Daniel
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:36 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names