Fordmods Logo

EF Steering Colum into ED 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

JOSE wrote:
NO, unless you get a custom intermediate shaft made.
the input shafts are different between EA-ED and EF-EL

this is another of the things on my looong list of mods ill get around to one day.


Can I at least retain the K frame? And fit the EF steering rack to the NC K frame? And and BTW, is there a difference between the I6 steering racks and the V8 ones?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

well, from what chef said, you can modify the later steering rack to fit the earlier Kframe, i dont think the reacks are different 6 to 8,

it would be easier and cheaper to get the wheel modified to fit an ea-ed boss or to get a custom intermediate shaft made.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

JOSE wrote:
well, from what chef said, you can modify the later steering rack to fit the earlier Kframe, i dont think the reacks are different 6 to 8,

it would be easier and cheaper to get the wheel modified to fit an ea-ed boss or to get a custom intermediate shaft made.


I agree. But i would prefer to fit the EF steering rack, as i think EF/EL's steer better then EA-ED's.

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

that would probably be due to roll centre and suspension geometry adjustments,

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

would it be hard to make up a custom intermediate shaft?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 8:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

offhand, no it wouldnt, you use the upper half of the EF shaft, bottom half of the EA one, and a sleeve of metal between, some nice strong welds to haold it all together and viola,

this may very well be my next project once i go back to work, (steel fabrication) so i can use their good welders, and we have an EF-AU leather wheel sitting around that may look nice on my car.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

JOSE wrote:
offhand, no it wouldnt, you use the upper half of the EF shaft, bottom half of the EA one, and a sleeve of metal between, some nice strong welds to haold it all together and viola,

this may very well be my next project once i go back to work, (steel fabrication) so i can use their good welders, and we have an EF-AU leather wheel sitting around that may look nice on my car.


Sounds easy enough. I know a bloke who could do that. Is there any difference in steering racks between EA-EL's (apart from the ones already mentioned)

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:24 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 73

Joined: 13th Mar 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
I just want the ELGT steering wheel, the only reason i wanna do this mod. lol. Can i retain the original steering rack?

yeah u can use the old rack all u have to do is change the input sharft to the ef /el one they are the same size just the ends are differnt , it is easy to do ,and also u won't have to get a wheel aligment if u do it right
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

BenJ wrote:
When you say you need to adjust the holes on the EF/EL rack, what part of the dash are you refering to? Where the column sits under the instrument panel or near the firewall

Regards
BenJ


I meant the steering column (my bad), and I mean at the top where the 2 bolts go through to hold the column in place, you can make it fit as is, but it sits a little to the left instead of in the centre.

The rack fits the k-frames in exactley the same spot in my test fitting at the wreckers i saw no difference in mounting, the only thing needed is the tie rods have to be wound out and a wheel alignment would be required, but this is needed with any rack swap.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Dellboy, thanks for clarifying that.

cthawes wrote:
yeah u can use the old rack all u have to do is change the input sharft to the ef /el one they are the same size just the ends are differnt , it is easy to do ,and also u won't have to get a wheel aligment if u do it right


According to cthawes, you can use the original steering rack, and just use the EF/EL intermediate shaft?

Dellboy, can you confirm or deny this?

Many thank

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:12 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 73

Joined: 13th Mar 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

BenJ wrote:
Dellboy, thanks for clarifying that.

cthawes wrote:
yeah u can use the old rack all u have to do is change the input sharft to the ef /el one they are the same size just the ends are differnt , it is easy to do ,and also u won't have to get a wheel aligment if u do it right


According to cthawes, you can use the original steering rack, and just use the EF/EL intermediate shaft?

Dellboy, can you confirm or deny this?

Many thank

yes u have to use the el intermediate shaft but u also have to change the rack input sharft ( in the rack ) with the el one what u have to do is pull the rack tower off ( the top part of the rack it has 4 pipes and 2 hex bolts holding it on ) then on the bottom of the rack there is a 17 mm or 19 mm cap undo that in side there is a 13 mm nut undo that then to the side of that u will see a offset 19mm female nut with a locking ring un do the locking ring and remove then female cap inside there is a spring plastic washer and a v block this will all just fall out then u can withdraw the input sharft and put a el one in then when putting it pack together where the v block goes that is a preload adjsment so what u have to do is turn the female nut in to it bottoms out then undo it just a bit a very little bit then do up the locking ring the whole job takes bout 40 min

BenJ
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My rack is leaking hence I am replacing it with a known good EF/EL rack with no leaks, otherwise if my EA rack was in top condition i would consider the above swap. thanks for the info.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 5:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

cthawes

Thank you very much for that advice.

I have a spare car so I can try this out without too much worry if it all goes up the creek.

I guess this means that you still have to buy an EL/EF rack to get the parts from, but you could at least get a stuffed one cheap for the donations.

Merry Christmas to all

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 1:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Dellboy999,

would you have to upgrade to EF cruise control in order for the set + and set - buttons to work correctly when installing the EF steering colum and steering wheel into a EA-ED?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 3:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
Dellboy999,

would you have to upgrade to EF cruise control in order for the set + and set - buttons to work correctly when installing the EF steering colum and steering wheel into a EA-ED?


Hi,

That would require a complete install of the EF system.

They are very different. Dellboy said you could use the EF/EL Cruise buttons, but change the output resistance to match the signals sent by the EA/ED system. Once identified, this shouldn't be too hard to accomplish.

Regards
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names