Fordmods Logo

is it me or is something wrong? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: is it me or is something wrong?
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:42 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,
To give you a little background... A few months aqgo I became 2nd owner to a 1991 NC Fairlane Ghia 5.0 on Dual Feul. The car was STRICTLY a highway car owned by an old couple 20mins northeast of Lakes Enterance. They used to drive it to Melbourne and back ONLY on weekends to visit their daughter while during the week the car sat in the garage.
I picked it up in GREAT condition with 355k on the clock. Only mod is a 2.5inch cat-back exhaust.

Now... I took it to my dyno guy and did a pre-tune run. Out came a blistering 90.6rwkw. I was more than :shock:
So after 30 or so mins trying to convince myself the dyno must be broken, I started working on it top to bottom.
It's running a Impco 225 mixer with a L model convertor. Now, I removed the MAF and airbox and fitted a K&N straight onto the mixer.
I also found that I was only with 1.4L of oil! Flushed that, and replaced with 5L of Penrite HPR GAS 10W/40.
Changed the BPR5FS-15's to BPR6FS. On that note, 2 plugs were cracked!
Upgraded to TopGun 8.8mm leads. Got my gas guy to tune and time the motor.
2nd run out... 100.9rwkw

Now is it me? or does this seem quite low?

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

does sound a little low, but the car does have 350,000 on the clock, so most of the motor is going to be a little loose. do a compression test and go from there.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:20 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 266

Joined: 16th Feb 2007

Auto or manual?
I think the ballpark figure is 105- 120rwkw stockish so motor could be a little bit lazy. Or it could be any number of serviceable parts that affect tune.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:04 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Sounds pretty spot on for a high mileage, auto, LPG, stock 5.0 - give or take a few KW for dyno variances.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 248

Joined: 13th Oct 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF / TERRITORY

Location: Illawarra
NSW, Australia

100rwkw is preety low for 5.0L fairlane mate, considering Km`s are high but as you said mostly highway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Seems prett decent to me for a stock E-Series windsor with 350,000k's, and on LPG...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:57 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Removing the MAF means the EEC will go to MAF failure mode. What this means incorrect or no load calculation and therefore incorrect or no spark advance. No spark advance means no power.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 2:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Removing the MAF means the EEC will go to MAF failure mode. What this means incorrect or no load calculation and therefore incorrect or no spark advance. No spark advance means no power.


i was told don't need the MAF if i'm to run the car on LPG... do you guys think this is corect or is someone blowing smoke up my a$$?
ultimatly, i'd like to run the car on straight gas.

regarding power, first thing is first... my cousin is sending his old GT40 upper and lower intake manifold off one of his mustang from the USA (it's only costing my $50 and thats just the postage)

exhaust wise, ive been quoted $1850 for PH4000's, 2.5inch metal cats and a twin 2.25inch system with mufflers.

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:01 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

DSTRBD wrote:
XR9UTE wrote:
Removing the MAF means the EEC will go to MAF failure mode. What this means incorrect or no load calculation and therefore incorrect or no spark advance. No spark advance means no power.


i was told don't need the MAF if i'm to run the car on LPG... do you guys think this is corect or is someone blowing smoke up my a$$?
ultimatly, i'd like to run the car on straight gas.

regarding power, first thing is first... my cousin is sending his old GT40 upper and lower intake manifold off one of his mustang from the USA (it's only costing my $50 and thats just the postage)

exhaust wise, ive been quoted $1850 for PH4000's, 2.5inch metal cats and a twin 2.25inch system with mufflers.


What did I just say?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

You need the MAF. END OF STORY. As Pete has said, no MAF means base timing and no advance, which means no power.
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:00 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

thanks guys. putting it back on later this afternoon.

also, do you guys think at the km's that i'm at, would it be worth it upgrading heads and cam while i'd be in the process of upgrading the intake?

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

DSTRBD wrote:
thanks guys. putting it back on later this afternoon.

also, do you guys think at the km's that i'm at, would it be worth it upgrading heads and cam while i'd be in the process of upgrading the intake?


Leave it as is till it starts blowing smoke, and wile your at it save your money for when it comes time to rebuild it.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:24 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names